Firewall hole location for Tach wire

westie47

Well-Known Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
370
Reaction score
140
Location
Abbotsford, BC
I'm adding the in-dash factory tach in my Coronet and am wondering where the tach wire passes through the firewall. Any pics with location/hole diameter would be appreciated. My search on here didn't turn up anything.
 

moes

Well-Known Member
Local time
10:23 AM
Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
1,110
Reaction score
1,601
Location
CANADA
right side of the black mark nexted to the bulkhead, there is a dimple

upload_2021-12-31_16-27-18.jpeg
 

1 Wild R/T

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
6,723
Reaction score
16,880
Location
California
This is my 68 Coronet R/T factory rally dash with Tic Tic Tach... The same as a Charger...

Screen Shot 2021-12-31 at 1.46.56 PM.png
 

westie47

Well-Known Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
370
Reaction score
140
Location
Abbotsford, BC
Yes, I am wanting everything to look correct, plus the tach wiring harness already has the grommet on it.
 

1972GY8SE

Well-Known Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
2,163
Reaction score
6,166
Location
CA
What size is the grommet? Measure the OD but inside of the lips.
 

1 Wild R/T

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
6,723
Reaction score
16,880
Location
California
Well... I'm gonna call it 7/8" 7/8" = .875 the hole actually measures .886, so .011 oversize...
 

69hemibeep

Well-Known Member
Local time
7:23 AM
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
475
Reaction score
348
Location
AZ Desert
I used a step bit just yesterday and stopped at 13/16 and the grommet fit
 

Top