flashing head lights

Electrical & Ignition

  1. 67belvedere/225

    67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    460
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Location:
    montreal
    Local Time:
    9:56 AM
    weird . the other night driving home . the head lights were coming on and off.
    i looked at it today , after 20 minutes of being it starts , i replaced the switch
    2 years ago , i unplugged the dimmer and the powers is still on and off
    never seen this before. looks like i gotta remove the dash and check power at switch
    the other lights are fine dash and marker.
     
  2. davek

    davek Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    419
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    columbia
    Local Time:
    9:56 AM
    check the plug,mine was not on all the way and did the same thing.
     
  3. dadsbee

    dadsbee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    695
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Local Time:
    9:56 AM
    Switch connections or the headlamp wiring harness bulkhead connections are loose and / or corroded. Start with the easy one in the engine compartment.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Fran Blacker

      Fran Blacker FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      4,017
      Likes Received:
      3383
      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2016
      Location:
      Connecticut
      Local Time:
      9:56 AM
      I unplugged headlight harness and when I plugged it back in pushed terminal in bulkhead back inside car. Just to look at before digging. If it's pushed out you'll seeit easily.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Ruby67

        Ruby67 Member

        My Photo Garage
        Messages:
        10
        Likes Received:
        35
        Joined:
        Sep 8, 2015
        Location:
        Kelowna, BC
        Local Time:
        6:56 AM
        The on /off is from the circuit breaker in the headlight switch getting overloaded and tripping. After it cools off it resets until it overheats and trips again. Need to find what in the circuit is causing this.
        Good luck.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • moparnation74

          moparnation74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          6,819
          Likes Received:
          10651
          Joined:
          Mar 27, 2014
          Location:
          OHIO
          Local Time:
          8:56 AM
          Does the 67 ground on the rad support? Years ago my 69 X did the same thing and it was a loose ground connection on the rad support brace......

          If not all bets are on the switch.....The one you replaced was it a reproduction? They are notorious to fail....
           
          • Agree Agree x 2
          • Ruby67

            Ruby67 Member

            My Photo Garage
            Messages:
            10
            Likes Received:
            35
            Joined:
            Sep 8, 2015
            Location:
            Kelowna, BC
            Local Time:
            6:56 AM
            Yes, the ground on the rad support would be a good connection to check.
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • robedanb

              robedanb FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              My Photo Garage
              Messages:
              18
              Likes Received:
              37
              Joined:
              Oct 22, 2013
              Location:
              Windsor
              Local Time:
              9:56 AM
              Sounds like you have halogen lights installed.They draw more current. Do the light flash on low beams also or only on high beams? I ended up putting relays on the high and low beams. My buddies that drive early vettes with 4 headlamp systems have to drive with their low beams on because their headlights would go out unexpectedly with the high beams on. There are relay kits available online.
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • Ranger16

                Ranger16 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                2,444
                Likes Received:
                2619
                Joined:
                Jun 27, 2016
                Location:
                Woodstock Ill.
                Local Time:
                8:56 AM
                Hmm, for what it's worth, I have Halogens and have not had a problem even when running with the high beams (all 4 on).
                 
              • eldubb440

                eldubb440 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                My Photo Garage
                Messages:
                4,234
                Likes Received:
                7020
                Joined:
                Jul 17, 2008
                Location:
                South Jersey USA
                Local Time:
                9:56 AM
                when my 68 did that it was the high beam switch!
                 
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • Billccm

                  Billccm FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  1,574
                  Likes Received:
                  892
                  Joined:
                  Aug 3, 2016
                  Location:
                  Tucson
                  Local Time:
                  6:56 AM
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  586
                  Likes Received:
                  460
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  9:56 AM
                  i did check the ground it s not that , i pulled up the carpet and unplugged the dimmer and the test lights power is fading on and off
                  that when i stopped looking. i have the wiring diagram , i will look at it, this weekend . I'm so busy fixing old brutish cars that i don't have time for mine. and i did use a smp head light switch. thanks for the help
                   
                • moparnation74

                  moparnation74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  6,819
                  Likes Received:
                  10651
                  Joined:
                  Mar 27, 2014
                  Location:
                  OHIO
                  Local Time:
                  8:56 AM
                  High probability it is the switch......if you had a spare switch you could unplug the one on the dash and connect the other one to rule that out...
                   
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  586
                  Likes Received:
                  460
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  9:56 AM
                  no stock lights but i do have some hellas I'm going to put in , when i have time . i think i will just put in 2 relays and be done with it
                  if the switch can't handle the current
                   
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  586
                  Likes Received:
                  460
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  9:56 AM
                  i think I'm just going to get 2 relays and wire it in , when i put in the better lights it will be more reliable anyway
                   
                • eldubb440

                  eldubb440 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  My Photo Garage
                  Messages:
                  4,234
                  Likes Received:
                  7020
                  Joined:
                  Jul 17, 2008
                  Location:
                  South Jersey USA
                  Local Time:
                  9:56 AM
                  eh em...….2 screws and a plug
                   
                • droptop

                  droptop Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  351
                  Likes Received:
                  195
                  Joined:
                  May 30, 2010
                  Location:
                  southern indiana
                  Local Time:
                  8:56 AM
                  I have had this issue on 2 seperate cars. Both times it was the main switch. :2cents: