flashing head lights

Electrical & Ignition

  1. 67belvedere/225

    67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    670
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Location:
    montreal
    Local Time:
    12:48 AM
    weird . the other night driving home . the head lights were coming on and off.
    i looked at it today , after 20 minutes of being it starts , i replaced the switch
    2 years ago , i unplugged the dimmer and the powers is still on and off
    never seen this before. looks like i gotta remove the dash and check power at switch
    the other lights are fine dash and marker.
     
  2. davek

    davek FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    1039
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    columbia
    Local Time:
    12:48 AM
    check the plug,mine was not on all the way and did the same thing.
     
  3. dadsbee

    dadsbee FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    4454
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Local Time:
    12:48 AM
    Switch connections or the headlamp wiring harness bulkhead connections are loose and / or corroded. Start with the easy one in the engine compartment.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Fran Blacker

      Fran Blacker FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      5,306
      Likes Received:
      4684
      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2016
      Location:
      Connecticut
      Local Time:
      12:48 AM
      I unplugged headlight harness and when I plugged it back in pushed terminal in bulkhead back inside car. Just to look at before digging. If it's pushed out you'll seeit easily.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Ruby67

        Ruby67 Member

        Messages:
        12
        Likes Received:
        37
        Joined:
        Sep 8, 2015
        Location:
        Kelowna, BC
        Local Time:
        9:48 PM
        The on /off is from the circuit breaker in the headlight switch getting overloaded and tripping. After it cools off it resets until it overheats and trips again. Need to find what in the circuit is causing this.
        Good luck.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • moparnation74

          moparnation74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          8,960
          Likes Received:
          14733
          Joined:
          Mar 27, 2014
          Location:
          OHIO
          Local Time:
          11:48 PM
          Does the 67 ground on the rad support? Years ago my 69 X did the same thing and it was a loose ground connection on the rad support brace......

          If not all bets are on the switch.....The one you replaced was it a reproduction? They are notorious to fail....
           
          • Agree Agree x 2
          • Ruby67

            Ruby67 Member

            Messages:
            12
            Likes Received:
            37
            Joined:
            Sep 8, 2015
            Location:
            Kelowna, BC
            Local Time:
            9:48 PM
            Yes, the ground on the rad support would be a good connection to check.
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • robedanb

              robedanb Member

              Messages:
              19
              Likes Received:
              38
              Joined:
              Oct 22, 2013
              Location:
              Windsor
              Local Time:
              12:48 AM
              Sounds like you have halogen lights installed.They draw more current. Do the light flash on low beams also or only on high beams? I ended up putting relays on the high and low beams. My buddies that drive early vettes with 4 headlamp systems have to drive with their low beams on because their headlights would go out unexpectedly with the high beams on. There are relay kits available online.
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • Ranger16

                Ranger16 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                2,965
                Likes Received:
                3451
                Joined:
                Jun 27, 2016
                Location:
                Woodstock Ill.
                Local Time:
                11:48 PM
                Hmm, for what it's worth, I have Halogens and have not had a problem even when running with the high beams (all 4 on).
                 
              • eldubb440

                eldubb440 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                4,517
                Likes Received:
                7891
                Joined:
                Jul 17, 2008
                Location:
                South Jersey USA
                Local Time:
                12:48 AM
                when my 68 did that it was the high beam switch!
                 
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • Billccm

                  Billccm FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  1,867
                  Likes Received:
                  1278
                  Joined:
                  Aug 3, 2016
                  Location:
                  Tucson
                  Local Time:
                  9:48 PM
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  795
                  Likes Received:
                  670
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  12:48 AM
                  i did check the ground it s not that , i pulled up the carpet and unplugged the dimmer and the test lights power is fading on and off
                  that when i stopped looking. i have the wiring diagram , i will look at it, this weekend . I'm so busy fixing old brutish cars that i don't have time for mine. and i did use a smp head light switch. thanks for the help
                   
                • moparnation74

                  moparnation74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  8,960
                  Likes Received:
                  14733
                  Joined:
                  Mar 27, 2014
                  Location:
                  OHIO
                  Local Time:
                  11:48 PM
                  High probability it is the switch......if you had a spare switch you could unplug the one on the dash and connect the other one to rule that out...
                   
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  795
                  Likes Received:
                  670
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  12:48 AM
                  no stock lights but i do have some hellas I'm going to put in , when i have time . i think i will just put in 2 relays and be done with it
                  if the switch can't handle the current
                   
                • 67belvedere/225

                  67belvedere/225 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  795
                  Likes Received:
                  670
                  Joined:
                  Nov 10, 2016
                  Location:
                  montreal
                  Local Time:
                  12:48 AM
                  i think I'm just going to get 2 relays and wire it in , when i put in the better lights it will be more reliable anyway
                   
                • eldubb440

                  eldubb440 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  4,517
                  Likes Received:
                  7891
                  Joined:
                  Jul 17, 2008
                  Location:
                  South Jersey USA
                  Local Time:
                  12:48 AM
                  eh em...….2 screws and a plug
                   
                • droptop

                  droptop Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  438
                  Likes Received:
                  287
                  Joined:
                  May 30, 2010
                  Location:
                  southern indiana
                  Local Time:
                  11:48 PM
                  I have had this issue on 2 seperate cars. Both times it was the main switch. :2cents:
                   
                1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                  By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.