Fuel gauge question

dickdale

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:50 AM
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
423
Reaction score
105
Location
Europe
I have an Autometer fuel (bought it used) and a new Spectra Premium tank in my 70's Sattelite. The needle of the gauge stands on almost full.

I have it installed. Black wire ground, white wire is gauge light, red wire is power and the purple is sending unit signal.
I've filled the with 5 gallons of gasoline.
When I measure the wire that comes from the tank with a multimeter is says 93,9 ohms.

I've grounded the purple wire to see if it reacts and will reset itself.

I cannot seem to figure it out. Especially since the Ohm range is 10-73 Ohms with 73 being empty and 10 ohms being a full tank.

Can some body help me out?
 

Rockland71GTX

Well-Known Member
Local time
3:50 AM
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
443
Reaction score
1,085
Location
South Florida
Try this:
https://technoversions.com/
Screenshot_20211117-095241.png
 

dickdale

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:50 AM
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
423
Reaction score
105
Location
Europe
Autometer says the gauge has an ohm range of 0 to 280.

The problem is no the calibration of the gauge. The problem is the gauge doesn't do anything.
 

lebshiff21

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:50 AM
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
63
Reaction score
75
Location
West Chester, PA
The gauge and the sender have to be the same ohm range for it to work. If it's programmable and you have it set on 10-73, but you're reading 93.9 ohms from the sender, it won't work. I can't tell from your posts what the sender can send.
 

Top