Fuel tank sender ground

mvent

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
107
Reaction score
33
Location
usa
C976F003-1602-4811-9059-928561FC16FA.jpeg
Fuel gauge stopped working couple of years ago I finally crawled under to take a look, appears sending unit is not grounded. Are all grounding straps equal or are some better quality.
TIA
 

dadsbee

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
12,332
Reaction score
32,337
Location
Midland Ontario, Canada
The reproductions are all junk with no "spring" or "snap" to them and are basically cosmetic. I found my tank was getting a good ground through the tank straps and J bolts and no need for anything else. My ground strap is there for "OE correctness" and nothing else.

Put an ohm meter on it.. one lead on the tank and another on the frame. If you get 0 ohms your tank and sender are grounded to the frame.
 

Basket case

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
4,911
Reaction score
6,856
Location
Ohio
owned a B Body since 1984, and have never had one with that ground strap, and all the gas gauges have worked fine.
 

mvent

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
107
Reaction score
33
Location
usa
Does the wire with rubber boot just " pull off " the sending unit?
 

Basket case

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
4,911
Reaction score
6,856
Location
Ohio
yes
wiggle it side to side some first, the terminal is threaded.
 

oldbee

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
10,115
Reaction score
10,195
Location
NE Ohio
I don’t trust any ground after working on semi’s for 30yrs. I put in a new tank, drilled a hole on one of the rear “holdover “ tabs on my new tank and ran it to a bumper bolt.
 

mvent

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
107
Reaction score
33
Location
usa
Pulled wire off sender at tank and put test light on wire, light flashed so I assume power is getting to gauge ? Going to order ground strap from Vans. Theirs are black another vendor on eBay says black ones break, any truth to that?
 

6872n73

Well-Known Member
Local time
11:19 PM
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
278
Reaction score
265
Location
Oklahoma
Could try a jumper wire or test lead from the body to the sender just to check status indeed your problem
 

Dave6T4

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
3,770
Location
Ontario, Canada
I just replaced the tank on 1967 R/T due to seepage of factory welded seam. It has always done this on my 30 year old tank to a lesser degree. It got worse last year, and always smelled gassy. I have had an intermittently working fuel gauge for a long time, and changed the tank sending unit a while ago, with no improvement. When I had the tank out last week, I decided to run a ground wire to the body, instead of relying on that stupid factory ground strap that counts on the fuel line to frame mounting clips to complete the ground circuit. I soldered a 14 ga. wire to the one of the spring clips that I snipped off the strap and clipped it to the sender outlet. I soldered a ring terminal to the other end and secured it to the shock absorber cross member with a self tapping screw. I know it is not factory, but my gas gauge works now. If anybody is looking up under my old girl's skirts to notice that, they are just too darn close!
 

440 4 speed

Well-Known Member
Local time
10:19 PM
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
1,979
Reaction score
1,041
Location
Saskatoon Saskatchewan Canada
I just replaced the tank on 1967 R/T due to seepage of factory welded seam. It has always done this on my 30 year old tank to a lesser degree. It got worse last year, and always smelled gassy. I have had an intermittently working fuel gauge for a long time, and changed the tank sending unit a while ago, with no improvement. When I had the tank out last week, I decided to run a ground wire to the body, instead of relying on that stupid factory ground strap that counts on the fuel line to frame mounting clips to complete the ground circuit. I soldered a 14 ga. wire to the one of the spring clips that I snipped off the strap and clipped it to the sender outlet. I soldered a ring terminal to the other end and secured it to the shock absorber cross member with a self tapping screw. I know it is not factory, but my gas gauge works now. If anybody is looking up under my old girl's skirts to notice that, they are just too darn close!
On one of our cars I clamped a copper wire in place of the old fuel line ground clamp, worked very well.
 

mvent

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
107
Reaction score
33
Location
usa
Ok grounded sender wire gauge swung up to full, as said in an earlier post test light flashed. Today I clamped pair of jumper cables from sender outlet to frame then to other side of fuel line after rubber hose and gauge just moved a little. Problem must be in the tank.
 

Durandal25

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
11:19 PM
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
3,138
Reaction score
3,210
Location
Texas
Any chemical fix for this?

Sadly no......and be very careful with these old tanks......vapor is the enemy.........keep well ventilated ect. Sending unit may be the issue...like some have suggested. Looks like the the tank may be newer then original?
 

dadsbee

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
12:19 AM
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
12,332
Reaction score
32,337
Location
Midland Ontario, Canada
10 minutes to pull it out and see if the float is full of gas or the rheostat is pooched.
talladegaorbust2019 083.JPG

talladegaorbust2019 084.JPG
 
Last edited:
Top