Gauge Cluster issues

Bruce Meyer

Member
Local time
6:24 AM
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Palm Desert, CA
Just finished installing new gauge cluster, Speedo, Tic Toc Tac, Fuel, Temp and Oil on my 70 Roadrunner 383. Also installed new circuit board, light bulbs and low voltage limiter. All seemed to be fine at startup. Good oil pressure, fuel gauge reading well and temp gauge working fine. Until I started driving bout 5 miles.

Then.... in perfect unison the fuel, temp and oil pressure gauges started moving to the left ever so slowly until they "zeroed" out. Then they started to reverse course, again very slowly then back to zero again. Always in complete unison.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Ground issue? Low voltage limiter? Power issues at the gauge pin connector? Thanks.
 

davek

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:24 AM
Joined
Oct 14, 2017
Messages
7,367
Reaction score
7,716
Location
columbia SC
try and put the old limiter back in and see what happens. Just saying the OE limiter has been around for 50 plus years in many cars and still work.
 

Bruce Meyer

Member
Local time
6:24 AM
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Palm Desert, CA
try and put the old limiter back in and see what happens. Just saying the OE limiter has been around for 50 plus years in many cars and still work.
So do you think this in "Unison" gauge movement is a voltage drop issue?
 

65-440

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:24 PM
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,378
Reaction score
3,001
Location
virginia beach, va
Well they all have separate grounds, only thing common is voltage from the limiter. I'd look there 1st
 

Bruce Meyer

Member
Local time
6:24 AM
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Palm Desert, CA
I ran a wire connector directly from the voltage limiter ground to chassis ground to be safe when I initially installed it. I'll try putting the original limiter in.
 

Bruce Meyer

Member
Local time
6:24 AM
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Palm Desert, CA
Well, after pulling the cluster out again, I replaced the new voltage limiter with the 50 year old one I saved. The old Bird loved the old one much better. No issues with the "moving" gauges. Just goes to show you older can be better.
 

justjim

Well-Known Member
Local time
8:24 AM
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
488
Reaction score
95
Location
wisconsin
Well, after pulling the cluster out again, I replaced the new voltage limiter with the 50 year old one I saved. The old Bird loved the old one much better. No issues with the "moving" gauges. Just goes to show you older can be better.
there is a video on how to check if voltage limiter works. google how to test chrysler voltage limiter very ez to do.
 

bing69

Well-Known Member
Local time
8:24 AM
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
51
Reaction score
16
Location
Mason City, Iowa USA
A lot of talk about grounding the speedometer/gauge/cluster. When I first took mine out, it wasn't grounded; so my question is, just where do I put the ground wire on the gauge? I installed a new circuit board that has a built in voltage limiter because the fuel and temp gauge didn't work. They still don't work. Both Fuel and Temp bench tested o.k.. Some help would be greatly appriciated.
 

bing69

Well-Known Member
Local time
8:24 AM
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
51
Reaction score
16
Location
Mason City, Iowa USA
I've bench tested both the fuel and temp gauge; both work. Ohm tested the wires going to both and they both ohm tested out. After having trouble with several OEM voltage limiters, I bought a (non-rally) curcuit board with a built in solid state limiter from Vans Auto. All the dash lights, turn signals, and oil light work; but the fuel and temp gauges don't move. Gage cluster housing is grounded. Is there something else I need to do?
 
Top