• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Given my stock 18-spline setup, what clutch options do I actually have?

moparedtn

I got your Staff Member riiiight heeeere...
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:41 AM
Reaction score
I'll preface by saying, I'm no expert on this stuff.
All I know about Mopar clutches entails 18 vs. 23 spline and 10.5" vs. 11" OD...that's the extent of my knowledge.
I grew up driving anything with a clutch (thanks Pop, God rest you!) and I've never actually worn a clutch out in
my life (including a 250k 5.0 Mustang and my 20 year old diesel compact tractor now).
I still remember fondly a certain '68 Super Bee I had with a transplant 440 that had a NAPA "rebuilt" factory style
clutch in it, that I beat hell out of and never so much as glazed the flywheel on it.

What I'm saying is - I get along good with clutches. Love 'em.

I do know that the factory style B&B 3-finger style clutch has pretty much gone the way of the dodo, much to my
disappointment - I've always actually liked the factory clutches on these cars and have little need for any
"high performance" ones, honestly.
I don't feel the need to walk around with the "3000lb clutch left knee" limp, bragging rights aside.

Don't care much for diaphragm style ones, either - they feel more like on-off switches to me, not to mention the
wonky pedal height and no over-center spring deal are real turn-offs to me.

So - having come up empty on finding "just" a factory-style 3-finger anywhere (and no, RAM doesn't count)...
perhaps I need to broaden my horizons some here??

First, what I have to work with...
Fred has a 440 with a factory heavy as hell 11" flywheel, as provided by Brewers a few years ago:
new flywheel sta-lube etc 3-2-17.jpg
The bellhousing is a factory cast iron hoarker as well:
bellhousing.jpg