• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Got to make a pass with the 950 carb.

383man

Local time
11:57 AM
Reaction score
My two sons and two nephews along with me all went to Cecil to a test & tune this past weekend. I had the Proform 950 on my car and the 850 DP in the trunk. My son Ron Jr ran his 72 Dart with the 400 in it and my other son Tim drove and ran Ron Jrs SRT-4 Neon. Well I was so into trying the 950 Proform that I forgot how worn my Hoosier radial slicks were that I have been driving on and raced on for over 3 years and the bottom line was there was not much left on them as they are about shot. But I figured to just run and see how it MPH's if it dont hook good. It also got very crowded and we had a few oil downs as I only got 3 passes in being there all day. The last time I got in the staging lanes about 2:30 (they closed at 4) and did not move for over an hr from an oil down as that was my last pass. Bottom line it was not a good day for me as the car did not hook good but on one run when it hooked ok. I made the first run with the 950 and it spun as I had a 1.62 sixty (normal is low 1.50's) and ran a 10.93 @ 123.17. I felt it usually has better MPH there so I slapped the 850 on to see how the MPH was. It actually hooked ok in the other lane this pass as it had a 1.52 sixty but when I pulled third gear it layed over and then at the lites picked back up and ran 10.91 @ 122. I had the 850 upside down a few times when off dumping the gas out of it so I figured maybe some dirt moved into a passage so I reved the eng some and choked out the carb some to try and clean out any dirt and then I got back in line at 2:30. The last pass was fair as it did not hook great (1.55 sixty) and did not lay over like the last run as this 850 has always run very good. I only ran a 10.89