• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hand ring filer vs electric

TexasRoadRunner68

Local time
10:45 AM
Reaction score
I’m about to gap rings…is it worth investing the money for an electric ring filer? I like that it’s powered and has a deburring wheel…but it’s $649 lol.

This is my first build. I will do a 440 and possibly some others in the future.

Of course I can’t find one of these used. I was looking at the battery proform units, but decided against those.

Any input from the experienced engine builders?

AA16FCE0-1F79-459A-AE1E-8B94B74CE82F.jpeg

I use the Goodson version of this, but I gap a lot of rings. The steel Cummings rings made me do it; one hour for one ring manually! I think the Proform 12v ones are cheap and voted against them too. There is a bit of a learning curve using this, but works well. In the video for the Proform model, the person said 'you need to increase the gap 0.012", turn the knob and grind away'. That is the quickest way to screw up your rings because the ends will NOT be parallel. Any person that knows math (Geometry/Trig), you need to follow the arc of the circle to keep the gap ends parallel. I have found that by grinding no more than 0.004" then reposition the ring works well, but still check the ends by pushing the together and look for light and adjust accordingly. All of this being said, if all you might do in your lifetime is a few motors, I would probably sticl with the manual ring filer from Summit racing.

A couple of things come to mind when it comes to ring files, with the main thing being how often you plan on using it. If it's just going to be a few motors (less than 20) then the manual one would make more sense.