• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Headliner install question

thebankerstoy

Local time
2:15 PM
Reaction score
I am planning on trying to install a new headliner in my 66 Coronet 500 and I have found some great install tips to make it a good install, but I have never done this job before and the one thing that I have heard different opinions on, is if you should remove the windshield and rear window glass to make it easier to install the headliner. I will be removing the front windshield to replace it and to also remove my dash shell to paint it, but I wasn'r going to remove the rear window glass unless I need to for the headliner work.

Thank you in advace for help from anybody who has done this install in the past.

Richard

I've never done one with the glass out. Really isn't all that big of a deal. But if you're going to remove the windshield anyway, you might as well pull it before doing the headliner. Pulling the glass without breaking it (especially if its installed on the butyl tape) is a real hassle

On the 66 Coronet hardtops, they use rubber gaskets on both the windshield and the rear window glass, but I will be dealing with the cars original 43 year old glass and gaskets, so that will be interesting. I am planning on having a glass company remove the glass though, as that's a task I don't want to deal with. I also worry about the new reproduction window gaskets not sealing as well as the originals. Have you heard of any problems with that issue?

By the way Tem, what do you think about these headliner installation tips?

http://www.restorick.com/tech/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5

Richard

That's a pretty good writeup. I haven't had to use any heat to tighten one up after install. But this is Texas, and all you have to do is park one outside and it will work itself out.