• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Heater Won't Blow on Windscreen

Eggo

Local time
5:35 PM
Reaction score
Hi, please could someone give me some help/advice with the heater on my '73 Satellite? The air only comes out of the vents no matter what setting I have it on. When I turn it to vent or AC it comes out of the vents stronger, but when I have it set to DEF it only comes out of the vent and not on the windscreen. It blows hot air out of the vents when it's not moving but yesterday it was quite a cold day and the air it was blowing out of the vents was a bit on the cold side even though I had it set to warm.

I've never done something like this before as my other car doesn't really have a heater so am a bit confused about what to do. Do I need to take the dash off to get to it or will I be able to sort it out from underneath? Has anyone had anything similar happen and know why it might be doing this?

The problem is probably either in the switch or in the actuator from the heat/defroster door but I'm betting it is the switch since it is stuck on the vent mode. Unhook the vacuum hose going to the switch. You can do this at the motor. Then start the motor. Defrost is the default mode so it should be blowing out the defrost, windscreen.
It is fairly easy to pull the switch assy. out without pulling the dash.