Help identify master cylinder?

Brakes, Steering & Suspension

1. fmahannah

fmahannah Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    10:39 PM
    I am pretty new to Mopars so need some help from you guys. My 63 Polara 500 had been converted to front disc brakes but there was no record of what kit was used. I need to replace the master cylinder cap but have no idea what master cylinder they used. I can't read the numbers if any on the bottom of it. I have attached a couple pics to see if anyone here recognizes which master cylinder it might be so I can get a cap, or a new master cylinder I can buy that would work for this setup. Any help greatly appreciated.

PDR_0069.jpg PDR_0070.jpg

2. cudajunction

cudajunction Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    7:39 PM
    Just bought one that looks like that for a 71 dart manual disc brake car. Hope that helps.

3. ODZKing

ODZKing Well-Known Member

Local Time:
  4. fmahannah

Local Time:
    Conversion

The brakes work fine. Car originally was power drum all the way around and was converted to disc on the front. I just want to replace the MC cover if I can but it is hard to figure out what matches. I suspect that they did the conversion using 71-74 mopar parts and that the master cylinder is from that era as it looks just like the ones for power front disc brakes for 71-74 a bodies. Might have to just take it off so I can clean the bottom enough to read the casting numbers but wanted to avoid that if I can

5. Hemi 354

Hemi 354 Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    9:39 PM
    You can do some research here. About a week ago, that very subject came up and some our FBBO members were using Muratic acid / Water (about a 1 to 5 mix), let it set for awhile, and it makes one of the MC covers look like new. Others were using diesel.

6. fmahannah

Local Time: