• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Holley secondary blade adjustment

cabledog

Local time
11:10 PM
Reaction score
Hello. I need to adjust the vacuum secondary throttle blades to allow more air in so I can close down the primaries. How far can I go before engaging transition slot? Is it the same as primaries with the square method? Does the transition slot pull fuel at idle or only when the secondary vacuum is engaged? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm still learning. Thanks!

Not sure all Holley carb have an adjust for secondarys but turn carb up side down there could be a small adjustment screw. 3/32 or 1/8" slotted screw. Have them on my 3116 carbs.

Not sure all Holley carb have an adjust for secondarys but turn carb up side down there could be a small adjustment screw. 3/32 or 1/8" slotted screw. Have them on my 3116 carbs.

I adjusted already but it seems like it needs even more air but I just don't know at what point it starts pulling in fuel or if it even will since the secondaries shouldn't be engaging until vacuum condition is met from what I think but I don't know how the transition slots work on the vacuum secondary side so that's why I asked here :)

Also I do have a very large cam with only 6 inches of vac so I'm having to make outside the box adjustments to get the rich idle down. If I completely seat the mixture screws it doesn't turn the engine off and in fact idles even smoother.

Small hole at top of 1st pic is where mine is. second pic is the bottom of a 3116 carb.
ab.JPG
ab1.JPG