• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Home carpet cleaning.

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
11:16 AM
Reaction score
My skills at carpet cleaning are either terrible or my carpet is beyond help.
We bought this place in 2004 and the carpet looked pretty good then. We have no kids but always have at least 3 dogs here. The back yard is 65% grass, 35% decomposed granite. I'm a Carpenter and a car guy so I'm usually dirty or greasy during the day. A lot of dirt comes into the house.
I have a Hoover "Homeowner grade" carpet cleaner with 5 small brush wheels. It has 3 reservoirs. One each for soap, water and the waste.
There are a few problem areas in the carpet so I decided to go over them yesterday. I figured that the spots had come back because I flooded them with soap before and maybe the soap hadn't washed out enough, attracting more dirt.
This time I just used hot water. I figured I'd speed things up so I poured water directly on the carpet and used a scrub brush to loosen the dirt.
The cleaner sucked up the water nicely, it looked dark brown and ugly. I went over one 4'x4' area for 45 minutes until the suds quit coming up. The carpet looked great!
I went over a few other spots in the house. Hot water only at first, then a little Clorox bleach was added. It all looked really nice.
As the carpet dried, the spots started coming back. Now it looks like I actually dumped dirt on the carpet and stomped it in. Yeah, even after watching gallons of dirty water come out, the carpet looks worse than before.
I felt really good that the stains had been sucked out only to find that they look worse now.
I do plan to replace the carpet eventually but what the heck?