How to replace cluster lights on a '67 Coronet?

Electrical & Ignition

  1. chillbill

    chillbill Active Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Local Time:
    3:04 AM
    My gauge cluster doesn't light up when the lights are on. The blinker lights work though. Is there a post, link etc on how to take the whole thing out and replace the bulbs?
     
  2. SDCoronet

    SDCoronet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    352
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Local Time:
    3:04 AM
    You have to reach behind the dash, find the rectangular knobs and give them a small twist for them to pop out. Its a pain. If none of them work at all, they might not be the problem. It my be your headlight switch.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Mackman

      Mackman Active Member

      Messages:
      35
      Likes Received:
      38
      Joined:
      Sep 24, 2020
      Location:
      Holley, NY
      Local Time:
      6:04 AM
      I found it was easier to take the instrument dash right out to replace the lamps. All mine were blown. Service manual tells you how to get it out . Not difficult.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
      • chillbill

        chillbill Active Member

        Messages:
        31
        Likes Received:
        1
        Joined:
        Jun 23, 2021
        Location:
        Los Angeles, CA
        Local Time:
        3:04 AM
        When I was checking the car for purchase I swear I saw the dome light come on at one point, but it doesn't anymore. So it's possible it's not actually the dash but the switch. The headlights work though...
         
      • slimt

        slimt Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        3,601
        Likes Received:
        4120
        Joined:
        Apr 17, 2017
        Location:
        Alberta
        Local Time:
        4:04 AM
        You are aware the headlight switch can be turned left and right to dim down to nothing or brighten . When the park or headlight knob is pulled? Just asking.
         
      • chillbill

        chillbill Active Member

        Messages:
        31
        Likes Received:
        1
        Joined:
        Jun 23, 2021
        Location:
        Los Angeles, CA
        Local Time:
        3:04 AM
        Yes :D
         
      • slimt

        slimt Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        3,601
        Likes Received:
        4120
        Joined:
        Apr 17, 2017
        Location:
        Alberta
        Local Time:
        4:04 AM
        Just checking. Check the fuse? Then bulbs.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Jerry Hall

          Jerry Hall FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          5,715
          Likes Received:
          9371
          Joined:
          Mar 26, 2018
          Location:
          Alabama
          Local Time:
          5:04 AM
          If they don't work at all the fuse or clean the fuse holder. Rust and dirt in a 50+ year old fuse box is a pain. Then there is the headlight switch that controls the brightness. The switch can work the headlights and parking lights and still be defective for the instrument lights. The turn signal indicators work independently of the cluster illumination. It's unlikely that all the illumination bulbs are bad, but possible. Lots of possibilities before you toss in the towel. Get a test light and the wiring diagram and trace the trouble down.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • 493 Mike

            493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            3,470
            Likes Received:
            3861
            Joined:
            Dec 25, 2011
            Location:
            White Cloud, MI
            Local Time:
            6:04 AM
            The coiled rheostat on the HL switch does corrode. Rock Auto sells Standard brand switches for low $.
            Mike
             
          • Rusty 72

            Rusty 72 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            208
            Likes Received:
            78
            Joined:
            Jun 16, 2019
            Location:
            Minneapolis, MN
            Local Time:
            5:04 AM
            I would check the fuse. Easy to check if you have power there with a light before pulling the cluster.
            Good luck.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • chillbill

              chillbill Active Member

              Messages:
              31
              Likes Received:
              1
              Joined:
              Jun 23, 2021
              Location:
              Los Angeles, CA
              Local Time:
              3:04 AM
              So, found the fusebox. It's on the driver side and can be accessed from the underside. And yes, the instrument panel fuse is blown.
              Found this late as I've got the cluster out of the dash. There are a few blown bulbs in there so glad I got it out.
              Now just trying to figure out how to put the speedo cable back in....
               
            • chillbill

              chillbill Active Member

              Messages:
              31
              Likes Received:
              1
              Joined:
              Jun 23, 2021
              Location:
              Los Angeles, CA
              Local Time:
              3:04 AM
              I was able to take the instrument panel cover off, and that made it easy to install the cluster back.
              However, just the left most bulb is working. This one is not connected directly to the cluster circuit.
              The central connector needs to be wiggled for the indicator and oil light to work. Even then, the other ambient light bulbs (connected to the cluster circuit) don't work. I'm going to clean up and solder the connecter pins so they make good contact with the circuit and give it another try.

              dxIHKxqdz_xBuagduV6Nspwz51t6yt4YBMVIG-8SKuEAB4i9G-Wozdg2sImwhlrzsFbTLg=w2528-h1896-no?authuser=1.jpg

              ZYjbyvxcNUEZruUixBSOcBcsiAdbqu1w3d8FLgTYSMgfHXJyhJmg5eNk-vJhdp7DMCnkhw=w2528-h1896-no?authuser=1.jpg


              The 'blue' lights are the ambient bulbs
              POs7xfPchvLfKsLTY1j2FbzGB4KK5hCqHRriay4kCyzmCWuHQNdAdArJWqB5vPGXLD66wA=w2528-h1896-no?authuser=1.jpg

              There are four blue lights
              e_FJami8AvQUQsn7Vey9FCpwVcUzXBMkP4o31WIjX8n2mbb-RDsHAjUrldUBIuEZt7vWCg=w1422-h1896-no?authuser=1.jpg
               
              Last edited: Jul 12, 2021
            • chillbill

              chillbill Active Member

              Messages:
              31
              Likes Received:
              1
              Joined:
              Jun 23, 2021
              Location:
              Los Angeles, CA
              Local Time:
              3:04 AM
              Since the left bulb is independent of the circuit and it works, I'm inclined to think the switch is working and it's just the circuit.
               
            • chillbill

              chillbill Active Member

              Messages:
              31
              Likes Received:
              1
              Joined:
              Jun 23, 2021
              Location:
              Los Angeles, CA
              Local Time:
              3:04 AM
              Lights are working now. The temperature gauge wasn't working before and it is now. Clock still doesn't work, although the seconds hand moves sometimes...

              I just realized the speedometer now starts at 30 :/
              I must've rotated it while tightening the cable? Is it easier to adjust it from the wheel/transmission end? I don't want to take the cluster out again :(

              yAqW5geKn5xtefILj0ZlcTtLCW4XE6A6o0WhtdxRo5eOc7OPNCnrc7neBO-eRITmf4DYZQ=w2524-h1892-no?authuser=0.jpg
               
            1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.