• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Howdy from PA

Decontrol215

Local time
7:17 PM
Reaction score
Hello All,
New guy here From Northeast PA. 31 Years old, I've actually lurked here for a bit before joining, mainly day dreaming about perhaps one day owning my own B-body. I think now I'm at a point in life where It can finally become a reality... So I figured I'd get my foot in the door a bit early. Start learning what I can before I actually pull the trigger on a car of my own. I work as a facilities mechanic in industrial manufacturing but admittedly have no auto experience outside very basic maintenance. Super excited to dive in and learn all I can. My tentative plan is to locate a rougher 69 Charger, take every component out and completely restore it from the ground up. Exactly how much I will be able to do myself and how much will need to be outsourced remains to be seen (i guess I will cross those bridges when I come to them ). Right now I for-see the body work going to someone else and I will tackle most of the mechanical/electrical side. If any of you PA guys (or anyone for that matter!) out there in TV land have any advice or wisdom you'd like to impart on me to begin my endeavor I would be forever grateful! With that said, I guess I'll leave you all with my first new guy question: In regards to the body, How rough is TOO rough when looking at cars to restore? Here in back country PA I see a surprising amount of these cars sitting seemingly intact in peoples yards. I'm operating under the assumption that all of these cars need trunk and floor panels by default, so If the frame rails look ok, what's some more obscure places to examine? I'm not overly worried about the drivetrain as I'll probably want to build something to my own specifications. Anyway this should be a wi