• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

I'm going to slam college education.

SteveSS

Local time
6:40 AM
Reaction score
I have serious reservations about college education, extending even into high school education. It seems so many frivolous and superfluous things are being taught in our system and so many necessary life skills are left out. I have a bachelor's and a master's degree and 90% of what they taught me is completely useless in daily life. If I think of all the inane facts I memorized just so I could pass a test or write a paper and then forget it months later it boggles my mind. I do think education can help make you a well-rounded person but I also worry about indoctrination from a heavily liberal system.

I'm not saying you should be taught a specific type of trade from grade school on but I'm in favor of showing kids a spectrum of fields, what they can expect to earn and what are their chances of getting a job in said field. I think colleges are scamming our youth and their parents. Degrees seem to be more of a hurdle to be achieved than something that applies to real-world situations. As an example. One company I worked for looked for their managers to have master's degrees. It didn't matter what field that degree was obtained. The same goes for bachelors in some jobs. Kids don't need 4 semesters of English Lit but the colleges sure want the money they reap from those classes.

My experience over the years at past employers is that the more “paper” carried by a fellow employee, the worse the employee. Mainly work habits like on time, book offs, etc.