• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

It's A sad Day for Me........

SUPERSTOCKRACER

Local time
4:49 AM
Reaction score
Just heard my Favorite track to race at and its really my home track even though we don't have many of NENDRA'S Races there closed as of 1/1/13.
I have been racing there since 1974 and this track hooks like no other.
ISLAND DRAGWAY in Great Meadows,NJ has closed their gates.
Financial problems and back taxesI heard are the reasons and some stupid EPA deal with septic going into a small ditch.
Hopefully they can get it all resolved.
This one hits home hard for me.
Theres not many tracks left for me to race and I wont go back to Englishtown to race. RIP

- - - Updated - - -

heres a video of Island inside car video. pretty cool.thought i'd share
great track
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMaS1lp5Hwc

- - - Updated - - -

heres a youtube video from inside of my car. great track, great hook all the time.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMaS1lp5Hwc

Attachments

• ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 018.jpg
    ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 018.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 551
  • ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 019.jpg
    ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 019.jpg
    56.5 KB · Views: 531
  • ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 020.jpg
    ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 020.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 562
  • ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 023.jpg
    ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 023.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 550
  • ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 021.jpg
    ISLAND NENDRA 6.26.11 021.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 503
That's too bad looks like a busy track. I'm sure the EPA would love nothing more than to shut down all bad old polluting drag strips. I wonder how much longer our local drag strip will last.

That sucks to hear that. Hopefully they can fix it and get it reopened again.