• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

just a few sanding/painting ???

Bens69PlymouthSatellite

Local time
4:34 PM
Reaction score
what would all of you recomend as far as sanding my engine compartment? meaning palm sander grinder or just sanding block and sand paper also does anyone know if my primer has to be a specific color to paint my car b5 blue as my final paint job?

My car is going to be B5 Blue, I will use a primer the same color as "dip tank" gray. If I'm done before you ask for some pics.

you will definently be done before me my project is not going very smooth at all at this point Im a beginner and all my so called help has bailed on me time after time so im pretty much going to swim or die with this car and do it myself,good luck with your car PM me if you are ever out my way!and thanks alot!

use the palm sander with 320 grit paper on as much as you can then get the areas you missed by hand and primer color shouldnt matter just depending on the quality of your paint you may need more coats if you used a darker primer my factory primer color was a reddish brown on my car however now im using a yellow primer

I was wondering what type of primer I should use and what brand,also when sanding I should sand in a straight line shouldnt I? how many coats? should I wet sand every new coat? or just the final coat?Im a beginner like I said and I dont wanna screw this up,thanks alot for your patience and responses!