• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Looking for a CAM and lifter set for a 440 built for TORQUE...

super-bee_ski

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:20 AM
Reaction score
Any suggestions on my soon to purchase CAM and lifter set?
Criteria:
1. Build is a 440
2. Automatic trans
3. Compression ratio: Pump gas
4. Single carb, 750-850 Holley vacum secondaries
5. Torque down low...GOBS of torque
6. Rear end: 3:54 or numerically lower (3:23)

So far I have looked at:
1. Summitt House brand
2. Jegs House brand
3. Lunati
4. Comp Cams
5. Crane Cams
6. Mopar Purple Cam

PS: Cranky..I will get a Cam degree Wheel...

3. Compression ratio: Pump gas

I have some experience with engine builds that had 11-1 running on pump gas. So, what will the actual static compression be?

PS: Cranky..I will get a Cam degree Wheel...

Good for you lol. You'll be on top of the game ;)

Cranky,
Im looking for a 9.5-1 or 10-1 as long as it can handle this crappy California gasoline.
Not a race engine...
Built for driveability and torque...
NOTE: bore is .060

LOL.."Top Dead Center"

I'm no cam guru but do understand what's going on with them so I consult with Fugly. He's a member here but I haven't seen him post in some time. If you contact him or any other other custom cam grinder (there are some good 'shelf' cams out there but custom is usually always better), be prepared to give them as much of the info on the car as possible....and the more the better.

Flat Tappet I assume... Lunati VooDoo Cam 10230702 :imho:

Hydraulic Flat Tappet...YES..

Lunati Cam company, good reputation.
Thanks 67 Mopar...
I'll check it out !

Okay, here are the specs for the Lunati 910160818

Lunati#638-10230702
Voodoo Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshaft
Mopar Big Block 361-440
•Lift: .475''/.494''