• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Looking To Buy 69 Charger

The Rebel

Local time
7:52 PM
Reaction score
Hey All. Just joined yesterday as for some time I've always wanted a muscle car as a lot of my buddies had them in when we were in HS (Camaros, Barracudas, GTOs....). I graduated in 88.

I've just begun my research to see what I need to learn before I pull the trigger.

I'm interested in a 69 Charger (seeing I was born in 69), 383-4, Standard (or Automatic) in good shape but not showroom quality. I've seen prices all over the place ($20K+) on a ton of websites but not really sure what is really reasonable. My guess is a private seller would be cheaper than buying from a muscle car dealership.

Would love to get a Gen. Lee version but they seem like they go for like $40K+.

I've driven standard only a few times in my life but to me it would seem pretty fun to drive it as a standard to get that race car feel rather than manual.

Thanks in advance,
Roger

Keep your eyes on the for sale forum on here. It's where I found my Super Bee.
You can also post a wanted ad in the appropriate forum and see what kind of response you get.

Good luck!

Roaches are a dime a dozen and these days and it seems that anything nice is going to be in the mid-30s and up. Right now, good ones seem to be few and far between.

Thanks Guys. Question as it's been 20+ years since I last drove a standard (NOT a muscle car) how hard is it to get used to driving a 383-4. Or would a 383-2 be better? Should I look for an automatic instead? Also I see some listed with Shift Kits, what do they do?

Also are there any links to original 69 Charger Dealership Catalogs that list the colors & options that were available in 69?