• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Manual steering gear sludge

flatiron44

Local time
11:49 PM
Reaction score
I'm a Newbie with a used and abused 69 Roadrunner we have owned for about 2 Months. After years of neglect I'm goin
20201014_151534.jpg
g over things to make her healthy again. Long story short. I pulled the filler plug out of the steering box and this is what I found. It doesn't look right to me.
Any ideas how I can flush this box and replace with new fluid ?
20201014_151553.jpg

They tend to leak so people stuff the box with grease instead. Expect it'll leak if you clean it out and fill with gear oil. Oil is the proper lube but I believe people here will tell you the grease works ok for them.

I found this on a website a while back when I was working on a friends Dart with manual steering.
Use a moly-based grease inside the steering box. It lubricates the mechanical actions of the box well, is thick enough to cling to parts without running off and settling to the bottom, and is soft enough to flow back and forth inside the box by the pumping action of the rack block and sector teeth. Heat from the exhaust manifold and engine will soften it on cold days and yet the grease stays thick enough not to liquify and seep out of the bottom seal. A good moly or lithium based chassis grease will work in this situation and is easy to find in tubes and install using a common cartridge-style grease gun..