My 69 Roadrunner no electrical power

General Mopar Tech Discussions

  1. Russ Hood

    Russ Hood Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Location:
    TN
    Local Time:
    2:59 AM
    Took my car and had the front end aligned this morning. Got to the office afterwards then headed out to lunch. Turned switch - nothing. Headlights or nothing worked. Fuses are good. Starter turns over with screwdriver at starter regulator and starter itself. Alternator was making a racket and I thought that was it. I have checked voltage regulator it's good.
     
  2. BeepBeepRR

    BeepBeepRR FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,831
    Likes Received:
    9814
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga
    Local Time:
    3:59 AM
    Check the blue fused link at the starter relay. Sometimes they burn out. Also check all of your bulk head connections.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Russ Hood

      Russ Hood Member

      Messages:
      16
      Likes Received:
      19
      Joined:
      Jul 14, 2020
      Location:
      TN
      Local Time:
      2:59 AM
      Thanks I will check that
       
    • 4mulas

      4mulas Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,293
      Likes Received:
      1277
      Joined:
      Mar 16, 2017
      Location:
      Just North of Montana
      Local Time:
      1:59 AM
      Faulty ammeter can do this too. If the fuse link is okay I’d check it
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Russ Hood

        Russ Hood Member

        Messages:
        16
        Likes Received:
        19
        Joined:
        Jul 14, 2020
        Location:
        TN
        Local Time:
        2:59 AM
        Thanks I'll check.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • 440 Charger

          440 Charger FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          1,386
          Likes Received:
          569
          Joined:
          Aug 1, 2020
          Location:
          naples Fl
          Local Time:
          3:59 AM
          Think more how about a battery cut off installed one in my Wifes expidition saved dead bat lots of times till we figured out it was the windshield leak.
           
        • Russ Hood

          Russ Hood Member

          Messages:
          16
          Likes Received:
          19
          Joined:
          Jul 14, 2020
          Location:
          TN
          Local Time:
          2:59 AM
          Ok I check some things. Found this under the dash and unplugged it and plugged it back in. Now the car turns over and has lights but won't start. When turning over the ammeter is on the D side but I guess that's normal til it starts.

          IMG_20210808_191809743.jpg IMG_20210808_192302921.jpg
           
        • Billccm

          Billccm FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          2,655
          Likes Received:
          2267
          Joined:
          Aug 3, 2016
          Location:
          Tucson
          Local Time:
          12:59 AM
          You've got a loose connection under the dash. Maybe at your ignition switch. Start the wiggle test on the harness as you try to crank.
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.