my garage rebuild

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
Thanks guys. I've been trying to get the @&*$ing electrician back to wire up my compressor since august. I'm going to install my RapidAir system this week (hopefully). Then I can get back to work on my car.
 

Habib

Well-Known Member
Local time
3:36 AM
Joined
May 17, 2014
Messages
1,577
Reaction score
1,080
Location
Milton PA
I am extremely envious of your garage I would KILL for a garage that nice
 

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
The electrician finally showed up a few weeks ago so, my compressor is up and running. I also got my Rapidair lines installed. And, my Christmas present arrived a few weeks ago:

IMG_0731.jpg

IMG_0737.jpg

Now, if I could only find some time to work on the RR...

IMG_0737.jpg IMG_0731.jpg
 

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
A few updates; I’ve learned that compressor should not be run when temps are below 40 degrees. In an effort to keep my compressor running happy in the winter, I built an enclosure out of 2x3’s and insulated it. I’m using a piece of rigid insulation for the door. I also put an oil-filled space heater in there, as well. With this setup, I’ve seen temps inside the enclosure go from 31 degrees to 57 in approximately 1.5 hours. Not too bad. I’ll leave it like this until I can build something more permanent.

DA2B9FCF-664D-4172-8D0B-1DFA8B32C4F0.jpeg


I also came across a Moisture Minder that I bought about 5 years ago and completely forgot about. This can be set for time (in minutes) to go off and the duration (in seconds) that it releases. I have it plumbed into an empty washer machine detergent bottle inside a Homer bucket. I have the meter set to go off every 10 minutes for 4 seconds. I tested it out and it appears to do the job. This should help keep moisture out of my lines and tools. I may have to adjust the time/duration as I go. The Moisture Minder and space heater are both on a surge protector that I can shut off when I’m not using the compressor. I’ll also need to figure out a bracket so I can mount it to the wall.

21804FCF-E525-4F53-BFDB-950F1C8857A0.jpeg

8C95169D-56AC-454F-B001-083BC05D1F1C.jpeg

C43DD7EF-4A9A-4068-A328-1B116B1FB5B3.jpeg
 

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
“New” addition to the garage: Our old TV. It shuts off randomly though, I may need to replace it.

C3CE0E41-33FD-4AC4-AA7A-5CC9D8642996.jpeg
 

Cranky

Henchman #27
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:36 AM
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
27,191
Reaction score
27,700
Location
Down southeast Taxas
“New” addition to the garage: Our old TV. It shuts off randomly though, I may need to replace it.

View attachment 1086465
I have a Samsung that does the same thing, but it will turn itself back on after about 10 seconds.
I like the big screen TV's too but my old tube type in the shop is still holding on after 25 years! The new junk will never ever hit that kind of age.....and if anyone has a newer style one I'd like to hear what brand it is.
 

Richard Cranium

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:36 AM
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
42,092
Reaction score
116,392
Location
Maskachusetts
The new junk will never ever hit that kind of age.....and if anyone has a newer style one I'd like to hear what brand it is.


You'll have to wait a few years. I don't think LED flat screens have been around that long.
 

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
I’ve had this tv for a while. When it was about 2 yrs old, it started to get weird purple pixels showing up on the screen. A quick check on the internet and I learned that a run of Samsungs TVs made it through production with the wrong size (too small) capacitors. Samsung offered replacement for tv’s that were made during a certain time span. Of course, mine was made a month over the span and they wouldn’t replace it. I ended up watching a YouTube video on how to replace the capacitors and fixed it myself for about $7.00, the cost of new capacitors.
 

Cranky

Henchman #27
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:36 AM
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
27,191
Reaction score
27,700
Location
Down southeast Taxas
I’ve had this tv for a while. When it was about 2 yrs old, it started to get weird purple pixels showing up on the screen. A quick check on the internet and I learned that a run of Samsungs TVs made it through production with the wrong size (too small) capacitors. Samsung offered replacement for tv’s that were made during a certain time span. Of course, mine was made a month over the span and they wouldn’t replace it. I ended up watching a YouTube video on how to replace the capacitors and fixed it myself for about $7.00, the cost of new capacitors.
I absolutely hate Samsung products......
 

Coronet_Arch

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
108
Reaction score
295
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
My daughter and I replaced the capacitors in our Samsung TV. Her fellow engineering students were amazed she fixed a TV.
 

ct71rr

Chad
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:36 AM
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
748
Reaction score
783
Location
Massachusetts
I thought my wife was going to have a coronary when she got home from work and saw our $2000.00 tv in pieces sitting on a blanket on top of our kitchen island. :eek:
 

Top