• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need help on body work. So much bog..

aussiewannabee69

Local time
5:14 PM
Reaction score
Gday b body peoples.
I noticed on my left fender the lower style line was kinda flat. So I thought there must have been a small dodgy repair previously done. What I found was multiple repairs over repairs.a few layers of paint and bog covering a few dents. I have attached pics of what has happened. Since this is my first attempt at body work I would like to know the best way to attack it. The main one is at the lower style line. It looks as if something has ran into the side. Is it better to cut it out or panel beat it into shape?
Might be hard to see in the first pic how its damaged.

Screenshot_20180717-055102_Gallery.jpg IMG_20180714_080216_485.jpg IMG_20180714_080216_486.jpg

Dig all the filler out and see what you've got.

Try to metal work it out, use filler to get it straight. If you can't get it to your liking before filler then weld in a patch.

Hard to tell in pics what you've got there.

Dig all the filler out and see what you've got.

Try to metal work it out, use filler to get it straight. If you can't get it to your liking before filler then weld in a patch.

Hard to tell in pics what you've got there.

Yeah I've flown back out to work now so hard to get more pics. I've drawn in 2 red lines on 1 pic. In between the lines the dent is pretty much a triangle shape that has been pushed in the length of the red lines.

20180717_114113.jpg

Looks pretty gnarled. Not sure what tools you have access to but hammer and dollies will get you started but you may need a stud gun if it's over the fender brace.

Cut and replace maybe the only option if it's stretched out.