• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need help with a 69 Coronet and a TCI 6 speed retrofit.

Mocajava

Local time
4:33 AM
Reaction score
I have been working on my Coronet for about 8 months now and she is about to go into paint and body purgatory in a week. With that major preparation step completed, I have been back on to the drive train aspect and sorting out all those components. A local machine shop/ engine builder has my 383 and making a stroked 468 out of it...a work in progress dictated by finances. The 727 sitting behind it has always been the piece of the puzzle that I wasn't happy with. Not that I don't like the 727, but there just isn't a simple way to make it into an overdrive for long distance cruising. The combo of decent gearing to play on the street with and a 3 speed tranny don't make a good combination for long distance cruising a tan RPM that are kind to the engine at 75 mph or your wallet at the pump. I have looked at Gear Vendor and the Mopar overdrive add-on (from one of the other styles of tranny) and it seems that both require modifying the tunnel and a substantial investment.
So I have been walking around a TCI 6 speed in my shop for two years, wrapped up in plastic. This is a tranny I bought to go behind an LS engine in my 55 Belair project that has stalled because my body man passed away AND I found my dream car, the Coronet. That project being put on hold, I made the inquiry to TCI about a conversion to fit behind my Mopar. It turns out I can buy a bell housing and a kit to convert behind the 383 for about $500 plus shipping! Still have to do surgery on my tunnel BUT I end of with a very solid tranny that will take 600 tq/ hp and give me a .6 overdrive for 6th gear.