• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need to touch up engine bay, what are my options?

funknut

Local time
10:19 PM
Reaction score
As part of my resto/refurb project my engine bay is in need of some TLC. I welded up some holes in the engine bay and firewall and want to touch up these areas with body color. I'm not going for perfect, and don't want to repaint the whole engine bay right now, I just don't want it to be an eyesore.

I have never done any automotive painting before, but I'm not afraid to learn. Having said that, I'm probably not the type to do a massive amount of practice or test sprays, so I'm looking for a somewhat straightforward (idiot-proof) solution.

I have a good size air compressor, but I don't know how dry the air is. I have an inline cartridge filter/dryer setup, but no idea how effective it is. It's pretty humid here this time of year.

My welds are not awesome, so I will need to hit it with some glazing putty, primer and color. I did spray some etch primer on parts of the firewall that I welded up last year just to keep the rust away. I've read I'll need to prime over the etch primer first before filler?

The car was sprayed with Deltron DBU. I have no idea how old this paint is, but I'm guessing 15+ years old. I'd guess there's about 1 cup of color left. I also see that DBU is no longer made, so what would you all recommend as an alternative?

9CDE5268-C926-4EB2-8AA1-9A988432F01F_1_105_c.jpeg

So, I'm looking for a low-volume way to cover up the mess I've made. :)

I'm not completely opposed to taking it to a shop to get painted, but I figure I can fumble my way through this, learn a few things along the way and eventually get a satisfactory result.