• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New bullet for the "Brick"

theman440

Local time
7:17 AM
Reaction score
This is my first build thread so hopefully I won't bore everybody. A little back story - last September at the Street Car Super Nationals the call for 3rd round was announced. I hopped in the car to start it up and there was a terrible noise in the engine. I scrambled trying to figure out the problem then I noticed there was no oil pressure. It sat for a year but my son & I finally got the engine out to find out what happened.

IMG_20170910_131558790.jpg

Turns out the pick-up tube broke off at some point on my last run, I never heard any noises but I ran it long enough to hurt it. The #5/6 rod journal is bad and the rods are blue . . .terminal.

IMG_20170910_154236836.jpg

I built this short block in 1991, I put rod bearings & rings in it in 2001 when I put the Indy heads and DLI cam in it. It is a fairly simple .030 over 440, solid flat tappet cam 11:1 CR, single dominator, it lasted 26 years so I can't complain too much. There's no sense in repairing it IMO so I will build a new motor. The plan is a stroker (not sure on size yet) capable of high 9's to 10'0's. I will reuse my Indy EZs but will open the intakes up to MW size and port 'em, block girdle, external pickup, big roller cam, more compression, good rockers ETC. The old mill pushed the car to a best of 10.53 @ 126 so I'm not too far from the goal.

IMG_20170910_150216730.jpg

Anybody ever have this happen? snapped off flush with the block at the threads.

The car -

IMG_20170910_125239572.jpg