• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Not new to Mopars BUT......

Longknife

Local time
5:38 PM
Reaction score
Hello I have been lurking here for some time but this is my first post. First, my handle is because of my interest in History. I have been into historical re-enacting and black powder firearms since the mid seventies. A lot of the early settlers carried swords and the Indians referred to them as "Longknife".

My Mopar history goes a little farther back, I graduated from HS in '69 and went to work at a local car Dealer, Chuck Diering Chry-Ply in Alton Il. (The building is still there but empty) Mr Diering was former St Louis Cardinal. One of my main jobs was to service the new cars. I immediately fell in love with those "69 RR's and vowed that I would get one when I acquired my journeyman's card, after all I would be making almost 6 bucks an hour by then!!! One of my greatest memories was test driving a Super bird (440 auto)! I took it up the "river road" and nailed it, Cant remember how fast I got it going but it sure hugged the road at the higher speeds!!! Never saw Hemi or 6 bbl car come through there!! During that time I had a 56 ply 6 banger, a 65 fury 383 When I finally got my card in 1973 I was married and had a child so my dream was put on hold! My wife did declare that we needed an A/C car for the baby and I got a 69 Coronet. 500, 383 PS PB a/c bucket seats and it was T5. In late 73 I went to work for "Lewis and Clark Chry-Ply" on highway 367, It is now a U haul. In '79 I went to work at UPS and have retired from there.,,,,Well finally,,,, 50 years later I got my toy!!!!!!

IMG_4227.JPG IMG_4228.JPG IMG_4229.JPG IMG_4086.JPG IMG_3975.JPG

Congratulations!!!
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Welcome from Georgia.