oil change and engine not priming

Engine, Trans & Driveline

  1. denpsim

    denpsim Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Location:
    Henrietta Texas
    Local Time:
    4:20 PM
    When changing oil irs there a problem with 383 engine not priming without removing distributor and manual priming oil pump? Thanks in advance
     
  2. HEMI-ITIS

    HEMI-ITIS STREETER

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    9,136
    Likes Received:
    8886
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island,New York
    Local Time:
    5:20 PM
    What filter you using? Should start up and have pressure in 2 or 3 seconds.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • khryslerkid

      khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      15,136
      Likes Received:
      19616
      Joined:
      Mar 10, 2010
      Location:
      Hanover, Pennslyvania
      Local Time:
      5:20 PM
      Did you just change your oil and it's not picking it up? Valves rattling? What oil filter?
       
    • denpsim

      denpsim Member

      Messages:
      19
      Likes Received:
      0
      Joined:
      Feb 24, 2018
      Location:
      Henrietta Texas
      Local Time:
      4:20 PM
      New engine, changed breakin oil (royal purple) wix filter changed to Mobil 1 10w 30
       
    • denpsim

      denpsim Member

      Messages:
      19
      Likes Received:
      0
      Joined:
      Feb 24, 2018
      Location:
      Henrietta Texas
      Local Time:
      4:20 PM
      sorry did not start engine just turned over with starter
       
    • oldbee

      oldbee FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      6,779
      Likes Received:
      6105
      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2011
      Location:
      NE Ohio
      Local Time:
      5:20 PM
      Mopar oil pumps don’t usually need packed with Vaseline like some of those GM’s!!!
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • khryslerkid

        khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        My Photo Garage
        Messages:
        15,136
        Likes Received:
        19616
        Joined:
        Mar 10, 2010
        Location:
        Hanover, Pennslyvania
        Local Time:
        5:20 PM
        You should be good to just fire it up. Sometimes just cranking it with the starter won't show on the guage. Just watch the guage when it fires.
         
        • Agree Agree x 4
        • eldubb440

          eldubb440 Well-Known Member

          My Photo Garage
          Messages:
          4,428
          Likes Received:
          7562
          Joined:
          Jul 17, 2008
          Location:
          South Jersey USA
          Local Time:
          5:20 PM
          it would take a lot of cranking to fill the filter, no?
           
          • Agree Agree x 3
          • mopar 3 B

            mopar 3 B Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            7,315
            Likes Received:
            4853
            Joined:
            Aug 25, 2014
            Location:
            Kingsville, MO
            Local Time:
            4:20 PM
            Oil plug in place? Oil Installed? Filter installed? You did prefill the filter?
             
            • Agree Agree x 2
            • BeepBeepRR

              BeepBeepRR Well-Known Member

              My Photo Garage
              Messages:
              1,945
              Likes Received:
              1674
              Joined:
              Oct 16, 2016
              Location:
              Atlanta,Ga
              Local Time:
              5:20 PM
              A missed galley plug will get you no oil pressure.. Dont ask how I know.
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • BSB67

                BSB67 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                Messages:
                430
                Likes Received:
                313
                Joined:
                Jan 18, 2018
                Location:
                PA
                Local Time:
                5:20 PM
                Start it. It'll take a few seconds for there to be pressure.

                If you prefill the filter with oil, you'll get pressure sooner.
                 
                • Agree Agree x 4
                • Dennis H

                  Dennis H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  10,567
                  Likes Received:
                  10838
                  Joined:
                  Jul 11, 2010
                  Location:
                  San Jose
                  Local Time:
                  4:20 PM
                  What did the builder recommend. When going 30 over, I was told 10-40. Amsoil after break in.
                  Always prime the (Wix) filter before install as recommended above. It does tak a few seconds for my factory gauge to stir. I just let it idle and watch it closely then go downtairs to check for leaks. Carport and garage environment can cause amplified stress sounds for 5-10 seconds then quiet for mine.
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Daves69

                    Daves69 Well-Known Member

                    Messages:
                    1,329
                    Likes Received:
                    1053
                    Joined:
                    Jan 24, 2014
                    Location:
                    ChiWest
                    Local Time:
                    4:20 PM
                    On occasions I see "no pressure after oil change" in BB posts.
                    No way I'll put on an empty filter.
                    I fill it at least half way and spin it on quick. It will not be a huge mess and will take less time to fill up whether starting or just drill priming the engine.
                    IMO, A little drain back out of the filter can't hurt the pump prime.
                     
                    • Agree Agree x 2
                    • Fran Blacker

                      Fran Blacker FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                      My Photo Garage
                      Messages:
                      4,690
                      Likes Received:
                      4126
                      Joined:
                      Sep 23, 2016
                      Location:
                      Connecticut
                      Local Time:
                      5:20 PM
                      If you remove filter and let it sit for a couple of hours and put filter back on you can lose your prime in oil pump. Ask me how know. Two options remove pump and put heavy oil in it. Also remove oil plug by pressure sending unit and put oil in through there.
                       
                      • Disagree Disagree x 1
                      • StreetWedge65

                        StreetWedge65 Well-Known Member

                        Messages:
                        128
                        Likes Received:
                        146
                        Joined:
                        May 19, 2018
                        Location:
                        Texas
                        Local Time:
                        4:20 PM
                        Are you using a manual oil gauge or electric? I installed both types on my run stand. The electric always lags behind when priming the engines. Once primed, both gauges are fairly close.
                        If you had adequate oil pressure through the break in period, I don't think you have any major problems. I'm not a fan of using 10w30 oil in any of my B/RB engine builds. I use Brad Penn 20w50. The 10w30 maybe fine for a stock rebuilt engine.
                         
                      • OSDart

                        OSDart Well-Known Member

                        Messages:
                        241
                        Likes Received:
                        122
                        Joined:
                        Nov 24, 2013
                        Location:
                        Texas
                        Local Time:
                        4:20 PM
                        I wouldn't recommend using 10w30 oil. If it had good oil pressure when broke in, it should have it now. Start it and keep a close eye on the gauge. May take a few seconds to build pressure.
                        If you need help, give me a shout. I'm just south of Jolly.
                         
                      • 65wgn440

                        65wgn440 Well-Known Member

                        Messages:
                        263
                        Likes Received:
                        219
                        Joined:
                        Aug 16, 2016
                        Location:
                        Toledo, Ohio
                        Local Time:
                        7:20 PM
                        On my 440 with HV pump and 8qt pan, if I pull filter and let pan drain too long (overnight), NOTHING short of pulling pump and re-packing it, will get system to pick up prime.
                         
                      • dadsbee

                        dadsbee FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                        Messages:
                        1,258
                        Likes Received:
                        1989
                        Joined:
                        Jan 29, 2018
                        Location:
                        Ontario, Canada
                        Local Time:
                        5:20 PM
                        Sounds like some of you have some air sucking sump pick up tubes and the likes. My running fine, rebuilt in 1979, 383 was drained of all oil, replaced the oil pan, timing chain and valve seals. Flipped it every way possible during clean up, so doubt it had any oil left in the pump. Fully corked up and off to media blast and paint, reassembled, etc and then over more than a year later into the car + 4.5 quarts of 10W30 and a new filter. One long crank with the coil wire off, to get oil pressure just starting on the gauge within about 30 seconds max. Wire back on, running and 60 psi instantly. Never been any different and I've never prefilled an oil filter in my life. Not one that goes on horizontally anyhow..
                         
                        • Agree Agree x 4
                        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                        • StreetWedge65

                          StreetWedge65 Well-Known Member

                          Messages:
                          128
                          Likes Received:
                          146
                          Joined:
                          May 19, 2018
                          Location:
                          Texas
                          Local Time:
                          4:20 PM
                          As oldbee said. Mopar oil pumps shouldn't need to be packed with vaseline or anything as such. Now GM's, yes. As long as the pump is of good quality (name brand) I've never had any problems. I did have a customer with a 440 that had issues with a "no name" pump from Crock Auto.
                          Couple of my cars sit for months at a time. Haven't had any oil pressure issues on start up thus far.
                           
                        • 69a100

                          69a100 Well-Known Member

                          Messages:
                          5,421
                          Likes Received:
                          6862
                          Joined:
                          Aug 22, 2012
                          Location:
                          The Real World
                          Local Time:
                          2:20 PM
                          This ^^^^^^^

                          I fill the filter full, let it sit as the oil will get soaked into the filter. Top it off and let it sit some more, then install it. I find this holds about 2/3rd's of a Qt. I've never had a problem with low pressure doing this with a oil change. Good Luck
                           
                          • Thanks! Thanks! x 2