Oil pressure sending unit location on 383

1968 -1970 Mopars

  1. Acworld34

    Acworld34 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Local Time:
    12:02 AM
    I am rewiring my 1970 plymouth satellite does anybody know the location of the oil pressure sending unit.

    Can you send me a pic?
     
  2. Jerry Hall

    Jerry Hall Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    1928
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Location:
    Alabama
    Local Time:
    11:02 PM
    On the back of the engine, close to the firewall. I don't have a picture of one right now.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Acworld34

      Acworld34 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      88
      Likes Received:
      8
      Joined:
      Jul 1, 2013
      Location:
      Washington DC
      Local Time:
      12:02 AM
      okay it says I need to attach a wire to it... I will look for it.
       
    • Ironbuilt

      Ironbuilt FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      10,087
      Likes Received:
      17296
      Joined:
      Jul 1, 2017
      Location:
      North Carolina
      Local Time:
      12:02 AM
      5614791467_f410df1803.jpg
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Acworld34

        Acworld34 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        88
        Likes Received:
        8
        Joined:
        Jul 1, 2013
        Location:
        Washington DC
        Local Time:
        12:02 AM
        Thanks everyone. I was scratching my head trying to find it.
         
      • Acworld34

        Acworld34 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        88
        Likes Received:
        8
        Joined:
        Jul 1, 2013
        Location:
        Washington DC
        Local Time:
        12:02 AM
        does every car have one because i just took a pic and i don't see it.

        Back of block.jpg
         
      • Ironbuilt

        Ironbuilt FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        10,087
        Likes Received:
        17296
        Joined:
        Jul 1, 2017
        Location:
        North Carolina
        Local Time:
        12:02 AM
        There should be a port at the back of the block.

        IMG_1410.JPG
         
      • Acworld34

        Acworld34 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        88
        Likes Received:
        8
        Joined:
        Jul 1, 2013
        Location:
        Washington DC
        Local Time:
        12:02 AM
        yeah that is there but the actual unit is not there.

        although there is a line coming out that use to go to a oil pressure gauge (that no longer works). I had to tie it off with because it was leaking. Oil still would come out but I need another gauge

        I guess you can buy an Oil pressure sending unit and put it on but that looks like the engine needs to come out to reach it. it is tight back there ...oh man...
         
      • 1 Wild R/T

        1 Wild R/T Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,093
        Likes Received:
        1724
        Joined:
        Jul 9, 2019
        Location:
        California
        Local Time:
        9:02 PM
        It's not that tight, I've changed dozens of those senders, both styles, the big bell style for gauges & the smaller switch style for idiot lights...
         
      • slimt

        slimt FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        1,607
        Likes Received:
        1525
        Joined:
        Apr 17, 2017
        Location:
        Alberta
        Local Time:
        10:02 PM
        some folks back in the day unhooked those cheezy as they called them back then >> ( idiot Light guages) and put oil pressure tubes to a after market oil guage under the dash.. like a three pack.. oil , battery and Temp.. youd be surprized how many cars got changed over to more functional ones back in the day.. got to remember these were daily drivers back then.. flickering dash lights were a uncomfortable feeling....
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Frustration

          Frustration Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          374
          Likes Received:
          508
          Joined:
          Dec 8, 2014
          Location:
          PA
          Local Time:
          12:02 AM
          The sending unit screws into the same port that the oil pressure gauge line goes into. Take the existing line out (3/8" shorty wrench if you have one) and twist the new one in.
           
        • themechanic

          themechanic Oklahoma is OK FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          7,832
          Likes Received:
          8232
          Joined:
          Nov 11, 2012
          Location:
          Moore, Oklahoma
          Local Time:
          11:02 PM
          I prefer to keep the warning light and install a gauge. If I'm driving I don't want to be distracted looking down at the gauge all the time until the light comes on.
           
        1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.