• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Proper voltage while cruising

BanginGears

Local time
6:23 PM
Reaction score
Thought it was weird cruising last night. Voltage up to around 15.7
Battery was charged.
Went to 3 different cruises. Car started up fine each time like it had plenty of voltage. But at 10pm last night. Battery was stone dead. Tried jumping it by 2 different cars and no luck.
Had to use another guy's Battery to start mine up.
Then switched it back to get home.
Got home and pulled in to the garage. Turned off the car and the battery was totally dead. Didn't charge.
Battery was about 2 years old.
Any help here.

15.7 is definitely too high. 13.7-14.2 is about right for cruising RPMs, depending on how much amperage draw you have while driving. I am far from a battery expert, but it's possible that a cell went bad. Again, I am NOT an expert on batteries. (Or anything else) :lol:

Plates went together in the battery and your VR was doing it's damdest to try and charge it back up for you. Did you look at the voltage when you had your buddies good battery hooked up???

Todays **** batteries with thin plates. He said "battery was charged". If at a really high rate for too long, some batteries will warp a plate shorting out the cell (putting two plates together). If that was the case his battery was telling the VR he only had 10.8V and was doing it's damdest to get it back above 13.

New battery installed and shows 14.2 with just key on. 14.8 running at idle. As soon as the loud pedal is pushed over 2000rpms, I'm showing 15.7.
Who sells date coded vtage regulators for a 69 dodge

I use the solid state VRs, guy sells them on eBay. Bought three so far and no drama.

Also a battery with nothing hooked up should not be resting at 14VDC.