• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Putting on New Seat Covers, How Tough?

67Satty

Local time
10:17 PM
Reaction score
How many here have recovered their seats themselves? How tough a job is it? I already have the new covers for my front and back seats and new foam for the front buckets. If I have to pay the local shop it will probably cost me about $400. I'm in no big hurry, have just never tried this before.

Then again, there are a lot of things I've done on this car that I've never done before and it's been turning out OK so far.

Do it yourself and save the 400.00. It is not at all difficult. Just get yourself a Hog Ring kit..eBay has them...and go to work. Take your time and of course an extra set of hands helps too. Just follow the removal real close and then reverse the process. I have done it numerous times....

Good advice above. The one thing I would emphasize is letting them lay out for a few days. I put them out in the sun over the weekend while I was doing yard work and other projects outside. I put the new skins on after they had been in the sun for a few hours and it helped quite a bit. The hog ring kit makes it so much easier than fighting with conventional tools.

Do it yourself and save the 400.00. It is not at all difficult. Just get yourself a Hog Ring kit..eBay has them...and go to work. Take your time and of course an extra set of hands helps too. Just follow the removal real close and then reverse the process. I have done it numerous times....

What he said!!