question about a wiper motor

A12 Mopar Discussions

  1. eddie102870

    eddie102870 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Location:
    Alabama
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    working on my 69 super bee, installed a aluminum six pack with breather and now the wiper motor hits the base. question is is there a different wiper motor for the six pack engines or will i just have to modify the air cleaner base? its doable but id rather not hack it up if i dont have to.
     
  2. dla4567

    dla4567 Well-Known Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    pa
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    Same wiper motor, should be enough clearance.
     
  3. dla4567

    dla4567 Well-Known Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    pa
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
  4. eddie102870

    eddie102870 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Location:
    Alabama
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    ok thanks, ill have to look at mine again. i dont have that much room.
     
  5. Stanton

    Stanton Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    ON
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    Do you have a 2 or 3-speed wiper motor ??? There is no clearance for a 2-speed, you need to use a 3-speed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Bill Monk

      Bill Monk FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      966
      Likes Received:
      824
      Joined:
      Feb 27, 2017
      Location:
      West Virginia
      Local Time:
      11:53 AM
      Stanton is correct, you need a 3 speed motor, a two speed won't work. Ask me how I know
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Sixpactogo

        Sixpactogo Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        857
        Likes Received:
        590
        Joined:
        Feb 2, 2014
        Location:
        Eau Claire, WI
        Local Time:
        10:53 AM
        Yup......You will need a three speed wiper motor. You will also need the 3 speed switch in the dash and the 3 speed crank arm on the wiper motor. The rest of the wiper stuff will all be the same. Your dash harness already has the extra wire that will hook up to the 3 speed switch.
         
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • dadsbee

          dadsbee Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          517
          Likes Received:
          686
          Joined:
          Jan 29, 2018
          Location:
          Ontario, Canada
          Local Time:
          11:53 AM
          You can use the 2 speed.. I had one on my Bee since 1979. Now that I'm older and wiser I just recently fixed that "quick fix" from back in the day and made it right again! Buy a 3 speed wiper and the matching linkage arm + the three speed switch for the panel. The existing wiring in the dash harness has the extra brown wire you'll need on the switch. Make sure the motor you buy has the harness on it as it's different than the 2 speed.

          beerestoration2017 368.JPG beerestoration2017 392.JPG beerestoration2017 408.JPG beerestoration2017 1401.JPG beerestoration2015 266.JPG
           
        • PurpleBeeper

          PurpleBeeper Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,778
          Likes Received:
          1677
          Joined:
          Mar 20, 2011
          Location:
          Chicago
          Local Time:
          10:53 AM
          Yep, I just learned this myself.....3-speed wiper needed for clearance with a 6-pack & I'm 99% sure for Hemi's too for air cleaner clearance. Now that I think of it, I think you'd need a 3-speed wiper system for any airgrabber/ramcharger hood.