• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Quick question, HELP Please

padam

Local time
2:28 PM
Reaction score
I'm at 42 for Mopar Madness.
I've been running 1/8 mile so this is my first time 1/4 with my current setup.

Hitting my rev limiter at 6200 a good ways before finish line.
Tried to pedal it yesterday and poked a hole in a rocker. Got that fixed.

I think I would cross the line about 6400 without the limiter.

Would it be safer to move the rev limiter up, or bounch off it for a second or two?

Leave your limiter where its at before you hurt something.

I think rev limiters are great for protecting the engine from missing a shift like with a stick or if you have a rpm limit. Sounds like you are running stock rockers? Ran a set of the MP stamped rockers on a small block and turned 6200 with it on every pass. I don't like using a rev limiter to govern each pass. Are you crossing in 2nd gear? If so, let it shift into 3rd instead of hitting the limiter.....

Move it up to where you need. Bumping it every pass isn't ideal. I would use it more as a safety for if something breaks full power w no load.

Running a 4 speed crossing in 4th at 111 mph.
They are stock style rockers, pretty old.

I think a couple more mph would do it.

Running a 4 speed crossing in 4th at 111 mph.
They are stock style rockers, pretty old.
I had it backwards.....thought you were set up for 1/4 mile. If the rockers are stock stamped, I wouldn't feel comfortable running over 6k with them. The MP heavy duty ones will go over 6 but still don't like to go much over that with them. Know anyone with a set of taller tires that you could use for a bit?

I would agree on the limit of the Stamped steel rockers. But hitting a hard rev limiter can cause harmonics that tear things up worse then 200 rpms.