• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rear frame rail replacement - advice needed

TT from NH

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:14 AM
Reaction score
My driver side rear frame rail is rotted away. I got a replacement from a donor car in AZ and now have a question about next steps. As you can see in the picture, the rot begins at the yellow line and goes to the back. I have extra on the donor rail and feel like I want to use what I can. What do you recommend to create the strongest and cleanest replacement? In addition to butt welding with a sleeve (see pic), how would I best reinforce this? (I am just learning to weld; do you recommend that I hire someone?) Thanks! Terry

IMG_5275-marked.JPG

IMG_5276.JPG

Butt weld with sleeve.jpg

Last edited:
With the butt weld/sleeve you won't need to reinforce it, but i would take A LOT of measurements and make sure it's 100% in perfect position before you start, also if you are new a word of warning, the first few tacks you do will move the piece no matter how well you clamp it, tack it and double check it until it's solid and then fill the welds in. I would also coat the inside of the frame with corroseal and then rustoleum, but i'm crazy bout that..

Also while uyou have the old frame section cut out eastwood makes a internal frame sealant that would be easy to put in there.. Being from the rust belt and repairing a rusty car it's all i think about now :)
P.S. if you do the eastwood thing, tape the tubes to a straight but of coat hanger so it doesn't coil up as you push it in.