• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rear shock upper mounts

Bigfoots N Mopars

Local time
11:59 PM
Reaction score
I'm installing my Super Stock springs in my 1968 Satellite. Previously I switched the stock shocks with air shocks as a bandaid to get me to this point.

That was a real PIA. The upper shock mounts had 2 washers, one each side of the shock upper bushing. Maybe it’s me but took forever to push the 2 washers and the shock mount into the mounting brace at the same time to thread the mounting bolt through and tighten up.

Without the washers the shock moves around. Is this due to a aging 1968 car, or did theses mounting braces always require washers...

It’s too loose without them, too tight to fit them in...in less than 6 hours each side

I am a novice, so it’s probably me, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated !

I have never used washers.......Are you sure you have correct shocks?......Are the bolts bottoming out?

Just a bolt and a nut, not even washers on the outside... although it probably would have been smart for MaMopar to have used some, but hey if you can save 8 cents per car.. lol

I have never used washers.......Are you sure you have correct shocks?......Are the bolts bottoming out?

They look like this, the bottom bushings are thick, the top has the metal sleeve extending past rubber, and is narrower than the bottom.

87272779-6CD3-4B1A-A6AA-B0B68ACE3E67.jpeg

Just a bolt and a nut, not even washers on the outside... although it probably would have been smart for MaMopar to have used some, but hey if you can save 8 cents per car.. lol

I tried without the washers inside the mounting brace and seems to clunk and wiggle.