Remote control trunk release

toolmanmike

Henchman #2
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
8,179
Reaction score
14,481
Location
Iowa
I bet I get into my trunk 2 or 3 dozen times on a car show weekend. Why not have a remote control? I bought a used electric latch from a newer Mopar, bolted it in and wired up the transmitter/receiver that I bought off Ebay for less than $10. Works great and no more fumbling for my keys or scratching the paint.



remote.jpg 20190622_121106.jpg 20190622_115448.jpg
 

71SandbugCharger

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:57 AM
Joined
Jun 5, 2012
Messages
835
Reaction score
830
Location
California

toolmanmike

Henchman #2
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
8,179
Reaction score
14,481
Location
Iowa
Awesome! What was the newer donor Mopar?
I don't even know. I just bought it from a guy on FABO if I remember correctly. I would imagine many of the 80's Mopars would have one on. I think Classic Industries has them for around $50.
 

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:57 AM
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
25,860
Reaction score
73,608
Location
Granite Bay CA
The Diplomats and 5th Avenue cars used them too.
 

haywire 440

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
920
Reaction score
1,036
Location
N. Illinois
Can you list the part # and manufacturer of the remote. I see the Songle name but couldn’t pin point the one you used.
That’s ingenious and so handy. Sharp blue paint job too!
 

Mike Szadaj

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
833
Reaction score
1,609
Location
St. Clair Shores, Mi
I think I grabbed one out of a C-body. Fit right in. I just recently posted on the Members Projects and Restorations thread (1968 Coronet RT) about how lucky I got running the wire for mine through the trunk lid. How did you run your wiring? I got a 3 channel remote. The other 2 channels are for lock/unlock the doors. Same reason as you stated for the trunk opener apply to door locks. I used after market actuators.
 
Last edited:

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:57 AM
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
25,860
Reaction score
73,608
Location
Granite Bay CA
I added an electric lock setup from a late 80s 5th Ave car into the Charger years ago. The button is inside the console under the lid.
My Brother in law wanted it different. We used a pull cable and ran it through the car. It isn't finished yet but will be just forward of the LH seat belt retractor. I welded over the trunk lock hole too.

0165.JPG
DSCN1619.JPG
 

Ron H

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
6,897
Reaction score
7,612
Location
WI
That is a GREAT idea. I might have a another winter project to do...how much of a hassle is installing power door locks?
 

Mike Szadaj

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
833
Reaction score
1,609
Location
St. Clair Shores, Mi
The hardest part is finding a suitable place in the door to bolt in the actuators. mine came with a small clamp that you use to attach the actuator arm to the door linkage. One hassle you might not have thought of is that you have to run wires between the car door jamb and the door. My car has power windows, so I just added the wires to the window power harness.
 

toolmanmike

Henchman #2
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
8,179
Reaction score
14,481
Location
Iowa
I think I grabbed one out of a C-body. Fit right in. I just recently posted on the Members Projects and Restorations thread (1968 Coronet RT) about how lucky I got running the wire for mine through the trunk lid. How did you run your wiring? I got a 3 channel remote. The other 2 channels are for lock/unlock the doors. Same reason as you stated for the trunk opener apply to door locks. I used after market actuators.
I used a piece of mechanics wire to fish the wire through. Power locks would be a great addition as well.
 

toolmanmike

Henchman #2
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
8,179
Reaction score
14,481
Location
Iowa

haywire 440

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
920
Reaction score
1,036
Location
N. Illinois

68gtxman

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
10:57 AM
Joined
Aug 23, 2011
Messages
3,384
Reaction score
7,668
Location
Eastampton, NJ

Ron H

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
6,897
Reaction score
7,612
Location
WI
I'm shocked by how cheap this is!
 

toolmanmike

Henchman #2
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:57 AM
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
8,179
Reaction score
14,481
Location
Iowa
Boy that’s my luck, it’s out of stock. I’ll keep an eye out for it or use another. But Thanks for answering my question. I just bought the power lock mechanism so your post was timely for me.
haywire
I'm sure there are hundreds of different ones. Mine didn't come with instructions but Google and You tube to the rescue. I assembled things loosely first and drew a schematic.

 
Top