Speedometer fix for a '66

patrick66

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
3,173
Reaction score
3,682
Location
OK
Ok, I'm tired of "guess a speed" in my Coronet. My odometer works fine. My speedo hung up at 80 a while back, then fell all the way past "zero" and stayed there. I need to ship my speedometer ONLY to get fixed - the rest of my gauges function just fine...

Recommendations???
 

Don Frelier

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:59 PM
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
5,747
Reaction score
7,363
Location
Ionia, NY
Most people just find a good one, clean and lube it up and change out the one you have.
 

patrick66

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
3,173
Reaction score
3,682
Location
OK
I want to keep the odometer without swapping it into a replacement cluster.
 

turbine68rt

Turbine Bronze Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:59 PM
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
1,931
Reaction score
2,986
Location
SE PA
Don may have been referring to the speedo cable itself. Have you tried a different/new cable?
 

Don Frelier

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:59 PM
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
5,747
Reaction score
7,363
Location
Ionia, NY
Don may have been referring to the speedo cable itself. Have you tried a different/new cable?
I was referring to the speedometer.
Usually if the speedo is good so is the odometer and you can set it to match the one you have.
I did it in the Plymouth.
yoqlEXfqerow3SIOR4ID7DjU4i2Ip9S2lOwK_wGeRxU-BkNdomRBOxyQUvpb1BIWBs-Kxw8=w1204-h903-no?authuser=0.jpg
 

RussT Plymouths

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
228
Reaction score
160
Location
Kansas
The Odometer is an integral part of the Speedometer assembly, and won't function on its own. If you want to retain the mileage reading, write down the number or take a picture before sending it for repair. Setting the odometer to display what you want is a fairly simple process unless you drop all the small parts on the floor.
 

hunt2elk

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
8,857
Reaction score
8,464
Location
WI
Shannon at Redline Gauge Works is a good one if you end up wanting to send yours off.
 

patrick66

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
3,173
Reaction score
3,682
Location
OK
The Odometer is an integral part of the Speedometer assembly, and won't function on its own. If you want to retain the mileage reading, write down the number or take a picture before sending it for repair. Setting the odometer to display what you want is a fairly simple process unless you drop all the small parts on the floor.

The odo can and does operate without the speedometer. Mine has done that for 3,150 miles. The needle unstuck and dropped back to past zero. The speedo cable works, since the odometer is functional.

Still looking for a speedometer shop.
 

Cranky

Henchman #27
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
26,926
Reaction score
27,221
Location
Down southeast Taxas
@patrick66 Sorry, don't know of a shop to send it too but they are not that hard to work on. I've done a couple myself over the years. The only reason I can think of why the needle dropped down past the zero mark is because it came loose from it's post. Open it up and take a look. It wouldn't be the first time to see that sort of thing. Chances are that all you need to do is press it back on....but be gentle with it. It's delicate.

IMG_20220215_170515100.jpg
 
Last edited:

patrick66

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:59 PM
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
3,173
Reaction score
3,682
Location
OK
Actually, Redline Gauge sounds good. They claim a 2-week turnaround. $275.00. Going out to them on Friday.

I've had the cluster out. The needle is still on the post. There is no "springiness" to the needle. It just lays flat to the "zero" side. Tried to get the needle to do it's thing a few times. I'll look one more time before I send it out to see if there was something I overlooked.
 
Last edited:

joe smith

Well-Known Member
Local time
7:59 PM
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
1,561
Reaction score
1,927
Location
Florida
Actually, Redline Gauge sounds good. They claim a 2-week turnaround. $275.00. Going out to them on Friday.

I've had the cluster out. The needle is still on the post. There is no "springiness" to the needle. It just lays flat to the "zero" side. Tried to get the needle to do it's thing a few times. I'll look one more time before I send it out to see if there was something I overlooked.
Redline did my entire gauge cluster over 15 years ago... Updated the Alt gauge to a voltmeter, refaced and rebuilt it...
Have him build you one of his Speedo cables.... You will never have to buy another.....
 
Top