• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

The One I Loved Back Then Is Home

68BabyBlue

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:42 AM
Reaction score
Thanks to all of you who provided input when I had the opportunity to realize this dream from 52 years ago. For those of you who haven't seen the story, I test drove a new '69 GTX the week before my 17th birthday. It was the heavily optioned family car of Bill and Julie Clark, who owned the dealership in State College, PA, where I grew up. They kept it for 15 years, during which time I tried to buy it, first when I graduated from Penn State, and later, Law School. The Clarks told me to buy Baby Blue instead, the '68 GTX I owned for many years. By chance, I located the Dealer Demonstrator 20 years ago. Last Thursday, I finally drove her home.
GTX Home.jpg

Last edited:
That’s it ? Just one picture ?! Go out there and post at least ten lol congrats

That’s it ? Just one picture ?! Go out there and post at least ten lol congrats
There well be a horde of them coming when my G70 red line tires finally arrive - along with '68 style, dealer installed chrome magnum 500s. Car came from the factory with red steelies and poverty caps. Snow tires went on the steelies, and red lines on the magnums after the dealer's son burned up the original Goodyear Speedway white lines in a matter of months.

Love this story! Beautiful car, I can’t wait to see more pics!