• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Thoughts on: POR-15 epoxy, USC instead of lead(all metal) Alvin lab metal....

Bad B-rad

Local time
5:31 PM
Reaction score
I am not a professional body/ paint guy. But I have been welding for employment and for hobby/fun for 25+ years and I have used the USC: Instead of lead, aluminum filled body filler, years ago,that being said, I do have a question, about use of some of the other products that are similar, lets say the
USC: ALL METAL/Instead of Lead, aluminum filler,
POR-15 EPOXY,(putty)
ALVIN: Lab Metal, and any other that can be suggested.

If you come across a small spot that is thin and has one or a few pin holes, total size less then a nickel, and if you were going to cut it out and weld in a new piece, the repair would end up being the size of a golf ball or larger, by the time you got into nice rust free metal to weld to.
Is there a product I can use to just fill it?
I have knocked off the rust, used POR-15 "metal prep", then used POR-15 "brush on black rust blocker" on the area, to stop it from rusting in the future.
Is there a product that works well for this situation?

I have a small spot by the rear window channel on my car I was hoping to find something to use. It will be covered by the window gasket, vinyl top, and window trim.
I would not want to use some thing trying to save a few hrs, on a thin area, only to have it cause issues very quickly, down the road.
If I knew how to do lead, I think that would be the ticket. I have tried and have not been able to master it. I would love to get the eastwood learn to lead kit for beginners, but cost and time wise, not right now.

When wife gets home I will take a few photos, and show what I am taking about.

Last edited: