• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

To Weld or Not To Weld

Ranger16

Local time
7:38 AM
Reaction score
I have a wheel stud that just spins in the hub flange. I was going to use my MIG to tack weld a spot on the stud head to keep it from spinning (shouldn't take much). After pulling and cleaning it, it appears to be cast with the wheel face machined. Being an amateur welder I seem to recall cast iron as not weldable, or at least not easily, so I drove each stud out just a bit and put a few drops of red (high strength) Permatex thread locker under the head and drove it back in. Hoping this will keep the stud from spinning, but in the event it fails, can I tack weld the stud head to the hub flange? I would do all 5 for balance purposes. Keep in mind all I need is to prevent the stud from spinning when I tighten the lugs. The alternative would be to replace the hubs.

I had a friend that used JB weld for the same problem and never had a problem.

I weld mine. I assume this is on the front? If so, it's not cast and is easily welded. Welding all five is good but just doing one isn't going to affect balance unless you're see 200 mph!

The only way to weld cast is with specific rod. Nickel I believe, standard 6011, 6013, 0r 7018 won't do I'm not if there is any wire that can weld cast. I know my Argon shielded Lincoln won't do it.
Not sure if it can be brazed.
What you did with red loctite is probably sufficient

I weld mine. I assume this is on the front? If so, it's not cast and is easily welded. Welding all five is good but just doing one isn't going to affect balance unless you're see 200 mph!
Yes, it is the fronts Cranky. Thanks for the info. Much appreciated.