Torque converter clearance

Engine, Trans & Driveline

  1. mike1965

    mike1965 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Location:
    ontario
    Local Time:
    1:08 PM
    When I install the converter and trans to the motor how much should I pull the converter back out of the trans towards the motor.

    Thanks Mike
     
  2. Mike Gaines

    Mike Gaines Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,999
    Likes Received:
    3947
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Location:
    Ahwahnee, (Fresno) California
    Local Time:
    11:08 AM
    one would think until the converter lugs contact the flex plate....????
     
  3. mike1965

    mike1965 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Location:
    ontario
    Local Time:
    1:08 PM
    You don't want to do that the conv can come out of the pump , it has to be spaced so it's not to tight to the pump and then you add spacers in between the conv and the flex plate.
     
  4. Garys1969RR

    Garys1969RR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,508
    Likes Received:
    744
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    Local Time:
    12:08 PM
    I have always just bolted them up, and the spacing comes out fine. There is a lot of lee way in there for the front pump lugs to engage.

    - - - Updated - - -

    In 15 or 20 installs, have never had a hint of a problem. All types of converters and flex plates.
     
  5. dvw

    dvw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    6788
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    waterford mi
    Local Time:
    2:08 PM
    3/16' or less, any more put some washers between the converter and flex plate. It has to have some clearance. The current converter is as close as I've ever run. about .020". 200 passes no issues.
    Doug
     
  6. Jackpot50

    Jackpot50 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    211
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, IN
    Local Time:
    1:08 PM
    Before putting flex plate on align bolt holes and mark converter and flex plate so it is easy to bolt up. Put converter in transmission till seat into pump, put on motor and bolt up transmission pull converter out till standoffs touch flex plate and install bolts that's it.
    Min. clearance 1/8"
     
  7. WP29440SE

    WP29440SE Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    2787
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Englewood CO
    Local Time:
    12:08 PM
    xs2 , I have installed more transmissions that I can count and if im having to add spacers and shims and washers there are bigger issues than using a band aid like that. like maybe your flexplate is on backwards. the converter bolts will always pull the converter to the flexplate like its supposed to. or so it seems to me, but what do I know.
     
  8. Meep-Meep

    Meep-Meep дворянин

    Messages:
    9,891
    Likes Received:
    3660
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    Local Time:
    1:08 PM
    Seems this is an engineered dimension and I never thought much of it. There are virtually no variables assuming all the parts are as engineered so the chance of it being wrong are slim. Aftermarket converters would be one variable but pretty sure they got them correct. I just installed one and want to say I pulled it forward at least 1/4" maybe even 3/8". Works fine.
     
  9. theman440

    theman440 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    804
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Local Time:
    11:08 AM
    My transmission man says .060
     
  10. RT K_line

    RT K_line Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    765
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    San Antonio Tx
    Local Time:
    1:08 PM
    I've worked in the transmission business for years in the past and never had to add shims or washers to the converter. Bolt it up and go. The witness marks iv seen on torque converter hubs have plenty of room for pump gear contact when installed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • RustyRatRod

      RustyRatRod Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      6,206
      Likes Received:
      1988
      Joined:
      Jun 6, 2011
      Location:
      In a house.
      Local Time:
      2:08 PM
      Never have thought of measuring that. I can say from experience that it's a ton more than .060". On Fords with studs made on the converter, you usually have enough room to remove the nuts and totally disengage the studs from the flex plate. The studs are usually either 3/4" or 1" depending on application.
       
    • mike1965

      mike1965 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      98
      Likes Received:
      13
      Joined:
      Aug 11, 2013
      Location:
      ontario
      Local Time:
      1:08 PM
      Well mine worked out good there was 3/16'' from the conv. lug to the flex plate so no washers needed .

      Thanks for all the help guy's

      Mike
       
    • dvw

      dvw Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      4,878
      Likes Received:
      6788
      Joined:
      Feb 16, 2010
      Location:
      waterford mi
      Local Time:
      2:08 PM
      Many aftermarket converters end up will lugs at different heights. I would much rather add spacers than pull the converter out 1/4"-3/4" Converters may be set up for 1/8"-1/4" midplate. Has anyone measured their pump lug engagement? I'll bet not. If you run a glide or an Ultrabell you'll learn about spacers real quick.
      Doug
       
    • mopar 3 B

      mopar 3 B Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      9,073
      Likes Received:
      6412
      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2014
      Location:
      Kingsville, MO
      Local Time:
      1:08 PM
      The only time I have had to use spacers. Front wheel drives and exchanged converters to keep bolts from poking holes in the converter. Aparently the lugs on the converter are just to hard to make to accommodate the factory bolt lengths.
       
    • glassman

      glassman Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      960
      Likes Received:
      331
      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2010
      Location:
      U.S.A.
      Local Time:
      2:08 PM
      Been a Mopar guy all my life and I have NEVER seen a spacer or washer on the torque converter . I would have to think that washers and spacers would lead to disaster from coming loose. As we all know, you cannot use a lock washer under the head of a converter bolt. Next thing to worry about is , where did the air come from in your front runners. Was it approved air? We must now check into this air theory.
       
    1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.