Torque Converter Seated?

Virg464

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Jun 17, 2021
Messages
280
Reaction score
143
Location
Mid Michigan
Looking for some expert advise. I haven't done a torque converter install in many years, especially on a mopar 727. So, I have no idea if my new converter is fully seated or not. It feels like it is to me, it feels to be driving the pump after the last drop into place, and the fluid squirting out an open port on the side of the trans. I ran an inspection mirror down behind the converter and there's still about an 1" of the machined converter shaft visible above the trans seal? The converter mount pads for the flex-plate are flush with the mounting surface of the trans (see pics). Does this all sound normal, or am I missing something? Thanks in advance.

IMG_20220923_173625856.jpg


IMG_20220923_173654638.jpg
 

zyzzyx

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
8:17 PM
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
3,198
Reaction score
4,217
Location
Lisle, Illinois
So, use your straight-edge and take the same type of measurement from the face of the flex-plate to the bolting
face of the block. You should end up with 1/8" to 3/16".
 

Virg464

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Jun 17, 2021
Messages
280
Reaction score
143
Location
Mid Michigan
Thanks everyone, something was telling that it wasn't right. Glad I asked.
:thumbsup:
 

khryslerkid

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
27,623
Reaction score
45,553
Location
Hanover, Pennslyvania
With the weight of the converter on the pump like you have it, it may not let it drop in. You have to take a little weight off of it, turn it a little then let it drop down until the dogs line up.
 

Dave6T4

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
3,620
Reaction score
6,688
Location
Ontario, Canada
I use a small thin screw driver between the torque converter seal and reaction shaft to turn the pump drive lugs to 6:00 and 12:00. This way, the pump gears are centred in the eccentric housing, and the torque converter should engage easier. You should feel converter engage input shaft, reaction shaft, and pump drive. In my very early days, I once cracked a case by trying to bolt up a transmission without having the converter fully seated. Expensive lesson.
 

khryslerkid

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
27,623
Reaction score
45,553
Location
Hanover, Pennslyvania
And make yourself some sort of bracket to hold it in place until you get it close to bolting the trans up. They like to fall right back out if you're not careful.
Screenshot_20220923-211557_Gallery.jpg
 

Outsider

Well-Known Member
Local time
6:17 PM
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
227
Reaction score
230
Location
Northwest
If it doesn't go in far enough, you may need to have the pump housing machined for clearance. Some race convertors need the pump cut on a lathe for clearance; my last convertor needed this clearance, and my old friend Pat Blais took care of me. You can tell if you put the convertor in and rotate it around by hand a few times, pull it out and check for paint rubbing on the round part of the shell of the convertor. B&M and some old DC info have the details on where and how much to cut.
 

Fran Blacker

1 of 27
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Messages
13,229
Reaction score
13,611
Location
Connecticut
My 66 pump housing is machined to fit the stock hemi convertor.
 

Gus chiggins

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
676
Reaction score
677
Location
Florida
I use a small thin screw driver between the torque converter seal and reaction shaft to turn the pump drive lugs to 6:00 and 12:00. This way, the pump gears are centred in the eccentric housing, and the torque converter should engage easier. You should feel converter engage input shaft, reaction shaft, and pump drive. In my very early days, I once cracked a case by trying to bolt up a transmission without having the converter fully seated. Expensive lesson.
Yep, Keith Long of 727 specialist advised me of the samething. The TQ dropped right in.
 

66Satellite47

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
8:17 PM
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
6,843
Reaction score
5,877
Location
St Paul MN
Virg464, the pic shows a convertor that is not all the way in. Most times it takes numerous attempts to get the slots engaged in pump drive lugs. I pull the convertor back slightly, rotate it a bit and push again, it may take many tries.
 

LowBikeMike

Well-Known Member
Local time
8:17 PM
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
287
Reaction score
251
Location
St Louis, Mo
Hold the convertor by the snout with one hand, centering in the bell housing, use the other hand to turn convertor back and forth and it'll slide right in.
 

66Satellite47

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
8:17 PM
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
6,843
Reaction score
5,877
Location
St Paul MN
If you start with the convertor lugs either vertical or horizontal, it makes it a lot easier. Then you can put the convertor slots in nearly the right location.
 

Virg464

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Jun 17, 2021
Messages
280
Reaction score
143
Location
Mid Michigan
I use a small thin screw driver between the torque converter seal and reaction shaft to turn the pump drive lugs to 6:00 and 12:00. This way, the pump gears are centred in the eccentric housing, and the torque converter should engage easier. You should feel converter engage input shaft, reaction shaft, and pump drive. In my very early days, I once cracked a case by trying to bolt up a transmission without having the converter fully seated. Expensive lesson.
I will try to line up the pump drive lugs like you say, sounds like a good idea since you know where they are located once you do that.
 

Virg464

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:17 PM
Joined
Jun 17, 2021
Messages
280
Reaction score
143
Location
Mid Michigan
OK, I've tried everything and it just won't set down the last 3/4"(apprx). So, I'm wondering if there were two different sizes (dia) for the 24 spline input shaft, maybe a heavy duty 6pak or hemi part? Going to contact FTI and ask them about the converter as well, frustrating to have a $800 converter and it just don't want to cooperate :BangHead:
 

RemCharger

Well-Known Member
Local time
8:17 PM
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
3,909
Reaction score
3,662
Location
Sask
Do you have an old one to put it beside?
The 66 and down have a different spline.
What year is the Trans?
Count the splines on the input shaft.
 
Top