• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Trying to help a GM friend out, and need some input.

Hilljack68

Local time
2:24 PM
Reaction score
A buddy of mine is about to pick up a barn find 66 GTO (389/4spd), and was asking what I thought was a fair price. I told him being a Mopar guy, I'm not the best one to ask. I was thinking 20K. Any thoughts are welcome.

** UPDATE: The engine is not the original. It's a '68 engine, and therefore (according to him) probably a 400 not a 389. Also, it hasn't run in 30 years.

20220109_155341.jpg
20220109_155119.jpg
20220109_155243.jpg

Last edited:
No idea on value, but looks like a nice car. 4 or 6 bbl intake?

South Carolina car for the first 25 years of it's life, then garaged here in Ohio. No rot to be seen.

I'm no expert but from what I see that's way low.
I would think 25k.
That's a nice car

According to www.NADAGuides.com JD Powers

assuming it's all cleaned up running & driving
ready to roll, not just barn/garage fresh

I'd take 20% off if it sat for any amount of time

Low Retail $27,200 base model HT - #3 driver
Low Retail ad 4 speed & AC $38,080 base model HT - #3 driver

Average Retail $40,100 base model 389 6 bbl #2 nice clean car
Average Retail $56,140 added 4 speed & AC #2 nice car, better than driver quailty

High Retail #1 condition $79,200 near perfect car base model 389 6bbl
High Retail #1 condition add 4 speed & AC as hi as $110,800 #1- perfect car

How would you value it if it was a 67 GTX or Coronet R/T in the same shape? That should be a decent comparison.

That car just made the Hagerty bull market list as a good buy to appreciate $ wise in the future. Looks good. I would say 20k -25k in that condition in today's market. JMHO

assuming it's all cleaned up running & driving
ready to roll, not just barn/garage fresh