• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Voltage over 15 volts at all times. Stumped, see diagnostic list.

72sunroof

Local time
9:06 AM
Reaction score
Okay I have been chasing this for 2 months.
It is a 72 Charger with 70 amp alternator square back 2 field
Fully replaced engine wiring harness when restored 10 years ago
Replaced the bulkhead connector last year
Replaced the ignition switch and fixed al the connections {did this today}
Checked continuity from field wires to regulator ok
Checked continuity from blue field to blue on ballast ok
Checked continuity between fields ok
Checked voltage reading between blue wire in ballast and battery in run it is high 1.3 volts both before and after changing ignition NOT OK
Have tried 2 different regulators 1 is new Mopar reproduction with modern guts other is 1972 known good regulator both have great grounds
Wires are tight on amp gauge
Have a bypass helper wire from alt output to battery connection at starter relay 10 gauge with a fusable link.
Firewall has ground strap to back of engine
Even tried a known good 40 amp alternator same result
Where else to look?

What size pulley on the alt. Can replace with larger and slow it down. Just a thought

Just checked blue field wire to ground had continuity
Removed bulkhead connector NO Change
Pulled off alternator it went away
Checked that field to ground, yep it is grounded. But does that mean the other alternator also grounded internally

At this point heat up the regulators with a heat gun and see if the voltage goes down, they should temperature compensate. I just returned 2 standard ignition regulators that would only get down to 15.03 volts hot, I had to get an adjustable regulator. It can still be the alternator.

Ok you have the answers but its not fixed. It is a simple system.