Weird Fuel Gauge Issue

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. louser151

    louser151 Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Location:
    Bismarck ND
    Local Time:
    12:53 PM
    on my '66 Coronet Wagon, the fuel gauge does the typical only show half a tank when full, I changed to a solid state limiter from RTE, and installed a new fuel gauge which states to use a solid state limiter. Now I turn the key on and the gauge runs to full, then backs off and pulses like the test light when a guy tests for current. Any ideas? is my new limiter bad? I put a new tank, new sending unit, and new fuel line in.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2021
  2. WileERobby

    WileERobby Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,107
    Likes Received:
    10917
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    State of insanity
    Local Time:
    1:53 PM
    Did you test the tank sending unit ?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • louser151

      louser151 Member

      Messages:
      8
      Likes Received:
      11
      Joined:
      Apr 8, 2020
      Location:
      Bismarck ND
      Local Time:
      12:53 PM
      I haven't done any testing yet, this was late last night and now i'm at work and cant stop thinking about it. the old fuel gauge "worked" as it would show half a tank at full and go down from there, so i believe the sending unit to be working to an extent. I just don't understand why the new gauge would pulse
       
    • R/T Boy 67

      R/T Boy 67 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      972
      Likes Received:
      904
      Joined:
      Apr 23, 2018
      Location:
      Nanaimo B.C. Canada
      Local Time:
      10:53 AM
      Even though the RTE limiters are solid state, I believe that they pulse like the originals. A solid state gauge designed for steady voltage would pulse. New sending units are often inaccurate, which would explain the half full gauge reading.
       
    • louser151

      louser151 Member

      Messages:
      8
      Likes Received:
      11
      Joined:
      Apr 8, 2020
      Location:
      Bismarck ND
      Local Time:
      12:53 PM
      The old gauge went to half, I installed the new gauge, now it just pulses back and forth.
       
    • louser151

      louser151 Member

      Messages:
      8
      Likes Received:
      11
      Joined:
      Apr 8, 2020
      Location:
      Bismarck ND
      Local Time:
      12:53 PM
       
    • R/T Boy 67

      R/T Boy 67 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      972
      Likes Received:
      904
      Joined:
      Apr 23, 2018
      Location:
      Nanaimo B.C. Canada
      Local Time:
      10:53 AM
      Install the stock gauge, and test it by grounding the sender wire briefly. The gauge should read full, while doing this. If it does, it is faulty sending unit or a poorly grounded one. As I mentioned, reproduction sending units are not the best.
       
    • 69plywgn

      69plywgn Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      119
      Likes Received:
      128
      Joined:
      Oct 3, 2013
      Location:
      White Lake, MI
      Local Time:
      12:53 PM
      If you have a short piece of rubber hose that connects the sending unit to the main fuel line, you need a metal ground strap (jumper) installed to complete the circuit.
       
    • Jc cooper

      Jc cooper Second gear fun! FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      509
      Likes Received:
      311
      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2017
      Location:
      Houston tx
      Local Time:
      12:53 PM
      Try adding a temporary jumper wire from sending unit in tank to aknown clean ground, clean you gauge !
       
    1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.