• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What’s the best wax you guys are using?

70ChargerRT

Local time
6:21 PM
Reaction score
Well my brother is getting closer to wet sanding, buffing and waxing my car. What’s the best wax you guys are using? I’ll probably end up ceramic coating it in the end and I also need to call Roger Gibson and see if I can ceramic coat over this new Organosol since they made the switch to PPG Deltron.

Give this stuff a shot. What have you got to lose?

brighto_1024x1024@2x.jpg

I’ve been using McGuires ceramic wax for a couple of years. Probably not the absolute best to connoisseurs but seems to work very well, shines good and pretty durable. Easily available.

I use Giot garage wax. I like the best of show wax the best. I did us the ceramic wax on my pick up and it has a great shine

Mine gets a hand wax with turtle wax cleaner/wax once , maybe twice a year.

Any other times its a simple spray detailer. and Ive tried a bunch of them . ( problem with black cars, they show EVERYTHING )
Best one to date is the Jay Leno brand. Sprays out nice, and it doesn't leave the streaks Ive got with some others

I still have 2 unopened tins & 1 open I still use of
(gotta be 20 years) the ol' Turtle Wax, Kanuba-based wax
still works great, water beads of still
wax on, wax off

my cars are under shelter or in the garage always, when not driven
so I don't need to wax much

I have tried several things over the years, and decided it depends a little on what I am working on.
90's era: I used McGuire's Gold Class for a lot of stuff for a lot of years. Goes on super easy, takes some elbow grease though to really buff it out. lasted a couple months of sitting outside in WI in the summer, so I thought that was pretty good.