• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

which carb.?

charger10

Local time
10:58 AM
Reaction score
I have a '67 charger with 440 mild modified. 446ci.,440 source heads, performer intake, cam 274-286, auto trans., suregrip 3.55, headers. I have little experience with carbs. use will be mainly street, but strip a couple times a year. I was thinking holley street avenger 750, but friend said holley 650 double pumper. any advice would be appreciated.
thanks, bruce

I like the street avenger. I ran one on a 340 cuda. Easy tunability and access to the vac spring. 750 for sure

My opinion....
HOLLEY R-3310-1 Model 4150 vacuum secondary. This is the first generation of the origional R-3310 developed for, I believe, GM's 427/425 L-88 engine. The later variations, are 4160 design and re-rated at 750 CFM.
Years ago I had a 71 Dodge Charger 500, WP23U1A****** with a 440/375 hp, 727B and 4:10 8 3/4" rear end which I retrofitted with an Edlebrock (aka "Eddy") Torquer II manifold (X shaped runners with an open plenum) and the Holley R-3320-1 carb. Great response fairly ok fuel mileage....~ 12-14 MPG. I'm not a real fan of double pump carbs....too easy to add too much carb at the low end....just my opinion of course.
BOB RENTON

My opinion....
HOLLEY R-3310-1 Model 4150 vacuum secondary. This is the first generation of the origional R-3310 developed for, I believe, GM's 427/425 L-88 engine. The later variations, are 4160 design and re-rated at 750 CFM.