• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Wiring an electric fan. I am a novice with electrical

crash89

Local time
6:08 AM
Reaction score
This will be a really basic question for most.. I am a novice on electrical.
I am getting ready to install an electric fan. Ground is not an issue. I have that figured out. On the picture I attached, where is the best place to connect the positive for a switched connection? The fan it will be controlling is 17 amps. I would rather not do a manual switch and really don't want to burn anything up. ;)
The car is a 69 Roadrunner. Any help would be appreciated.

flx-31147.jpg

At 17 amps I dont think I would connect it directly to a 50 year old harness. They are pretty maxed out and most of the wiring will be smaller 16,18 gause wiring You could do a seperate harness for it and have it switched via a relay and stock switched wiring. Just basically closing a contact point in the relay. Then the heavier gauge wire just passes through with the lower gauge just closing that contact. Smaller load on the factory harness.

Crude diagram..

fanrelay.png

At 17 amps I dont think I would connect it directly to a 50 year old harness. They are pretty maxed out and most of the wiring will be smaller 16,18 gause wiring You could do a seperate harness for it and have it switched via a relay and stock switched wiring. Just basically closing a contact point in the relay. Then the heavier gauge wire just passes through with the lower gauge just closing that contact. Smaller load on the factory harness.

Crude diagram..

View attachment 752215
I hadn't thought about going that route.. That is a really good idea.