• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Brake drums ?????

Cornpatch MO

Local time
7:02 PM
Reaction score
In researching front 10" drums for my 1968 Satellite. WhatI am finding, and questions... These drums are hard to find from local parts stores...Composite drums are easier to find , and lower priced than cast iron. Any drawbacks from composite drums? Cast iron is $175-$200 each. Composite from Rock auto is about $25-$30 each. Composite is $79.00 to $119, and would have to be special ordered from the local parts stores. What say y'all? ..............................MO

Composite? I'm no expert on the matter but that doesnt sound safe to me, so I googled it and came up with this:

"...A composite brake drum for a motor vehicle or the like is comprised of a cast metal drum section, a stamped steel drum back, and a cast metal mounting face. The drum section and mounting face are preferably formed of cast iron. The composite drum of the invention provides a reduction in weight and in the amount of machining required as compared with a full cast brake drum. At the same time, the composite brake drum of the invention permits an increase in the thickness of the mounting face as compared with conventional composite brake drums, allowing motor vehicle manufacturers to use the same hubs and keep the vehicle track the same regardless of whether a particular vehicle includes a disc/drum or a disc/disc brake system..."